Ultimate Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Sticky sweet lemony. A bit much with all the glaze and icing. Might try again, with less of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I don't usually do reviews but I had to on the cake. I agree with several of the other reviews...this cake is way too dense. It has a very good lemon flavor. I think I will try it again with the suggestions of some of the other reviewers. I'll use 4 whole eggs instead of 8 yolks. I will also poke holes in it before pouring on the first glaze. As far as getting it out of the pan...I use a silicone bundt pan & have no issues whatsoever. I'm giving this recipe 3 stars for flavor alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This cake was excellent! Very lemony, moist. I would serve this to guests! I used fresh sqeezed lemon juice. Instead of using 8 egg whites, I used 4 whole eggs. I followed the rest of the directions perfectly and It came put beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I rated this on how it sounds and from some of the other reviews. I haven't tried this recipe but fully intend to because I absolutely LOVE lemon cakes. I would like to know if anyone has ever done this in a 9x13 pan and if so, how it worked. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ansonia, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I would have liked this cake, flavorwise, I'm sure. But, my health can't handle the calories, fat & cholesterol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Autum8
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This wasn't as lemony as I hoped. I followed the recipe completely. I didn't use fresh lemon juice either, I suppose that could help immensely. Aestheticlly speaking I didnt't use a fork I put the frosting in a bag and made swirls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autum8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Andy loves this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I ran out of lemon juice, so replaced glaze icing with a cream cheese icing. OMG, love this cake. Moist and lemony. I waited the 60 min to take out of the pan, only one part fell off, not bad for my second time. I will definitely do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
The only thing that makes this an "ultimate" lemon cake is the fact that you drizzle on so much lemon "sauce" afterwards. With that stuff - you could soak a couch cushion in it and it would taste the same. The batter has very little lemon flavor to it - just some lemon juice. Lemon doesn't hold up well to baking - the flavor sort of dissapates. I did change the recipe - and I know I hate people's reviews when they change it but - well if others do it, so can I! I wanted a lemon CAKE. Not a plain cake soaked in lemon juice. So - I added the zest of a whole lemon to the batter. I couldn't see making this thing with what little lemon juice it called for and having any remaining lemon flavor after baking. Zest was necessary! Also - I didn't just use egg yolks. I didn't see the point - so rather than use EIGHT egg yolks: I used 4 whole eggs. Less work, less hassle, and the cake cooked up BEAUTIFULLY. This is a very solid nicely colored lemon cake. Well, at least MY version was!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SINGLEGUYWHOCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is a great recipe - would have given it 5 stars if I had actually made it the same exact way - but I didn't, but came out perfectly. I wanted to make a layered lemon cake in 2-10" pans and one 8", so I used 50% more of each ingredient, and then used cake flour instead of the all purpose and baked for less time - about 20-22 minutes - until toothpick comes out clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States