Ultimate Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I bake a cake for work every Sunday. This is the one cake that was gone within an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This cake was really good! If you follow the instructions correctly (beat butter and sugar until fluffy, beat after every egg addition, and your baking powder isn't bad) it isn't terribly dense. It's more dense than a box mix, sure, but not so much that it takes away from the cake. Most glaze soaked cakes are denser than box mixes so they don't fall apart and turn to mush. I removed one star because the glaze at the end was way too thin. It dripped right off the cake. I'd do 1/8c lemon juice to 2c sugar. Maybe even add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
We enjoyed this cake. I lined the (glass 9x13) pan with parchment paper. I cooked it for 45 minutes at 350. I used juice from fresh lemons and used 4 eggs rather than 8 yolks. I was after well-flavored and not-overly-sweet...so I did not add the second round of glaze. I was well pleased with the results and will make it again. If you don't have a Costco-sized bag of lemons and are shopping just for this recipe, it took me almost 1 & 1/2 fist-sized lemons to get each 1/4 cup of lemon juice. Thanks for the recipe AND for not using artificial lemon flavoring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keydancer
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
My daughter requested this for her birthday and fell in love! This is going to be made every year for birthday in December but I can't wait to try it chilled in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
WOW!!! What a yummy cake! I baked it for 50 minutes, and it was perfectly moist! I added the glaze (cold) right before I served it (didn't read that I was supposed to do it way in advance) and it still tasted yummy! I dusted some powdered sugar on top, and it looked so pretty. My husband even asked me to do this for his 50th birthday!!!! So, yeah everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
What an amazing cake! Not having read any reviews that said they tried this, my husband and I thought the batter was not quite as lemony as we would have liked. So I added about a 1/3 cup more lemon juice. The bake time increased by about 5 minutes. I put the hot lemon glaze on while still in the bundt pan and I don't think I'd do that again next time. Using 3/4 of the hot glaze was plenty. I didn't need anymore when I finally got the cake out of the pan. Next time I think I'd remove it immediately, drizzle all over with the hot glaze using a toothpick to create fine holes throughout to let that glaze soak in evenly. Then when cooled, finish with the icing. This is an amazingly lemony and pleasant cake. It does seem it could get overwhelming with all of the glaze so I think it's ok to use about half of that. It's an amazingly moist cake so that glaze is just for flavor, not for enhancing the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I use this recipe every year for my wife's birthday .....I have tried a few other lemon cake recipes over time but this is THE ULTIMATE this recipe ROCKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. Something is left out. It was short, dense, and even broke a birthday candle when it was inserted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
So gooood!! We were craving lemon cake, found this recipe, and cooked it up after dinner. The batter was a winner with my batter-lickers (5-year-old and 2-year-old boys). We'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This cake was a big hit. I substituted the regular milk with buttermilk. I'd make it again and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States