Ultimate Irish Cream Chocolate Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Wow, wow, wow! :) This is an awesome dessert. I had never made a mousse before but it was really easy and looks super impressive. It was a huge hit with my dinner guests and I will definately make it again. I did use a big extra splash of booze and I garnished the top of the cream with a sliced strawberry. It turned out so beautifully that I can't wait for my next dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Definitely a 5 star for flavor but 4 stars for the way the recipe is written! The first step should be to whip the cream. Also, in case people don't know the bowl and beaters should be chilled in fridge for a while. Use a metal bowl..I just put the entire bowl and beater from my Kitchen-Aide mixer into the fridge for 15 minutes. Also, how frothy should the egg yolks be? I made mine frothy but when I stirred in the chocolate I did get some lumps. I kept going with my wire whisk and eventually they evened out. Probably should have used room-temp eggs. I used Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate which came out a tiny bit bitter. It was either that or the rum I used instead of the Irish Cream. I'd love to try this recipe with white chocolate or milk chocolate and Frangelico (hazelnut liquer). Finally, make sure you beat your egg whites until stiff and dry, not just stiff. Mine were a little too damp and I ended up with some lumps in the final mousse. It really did taste great with whipped cream and fresh strawberries on top. It was 10 times better the next day! The time in the fridge must have allowed the texture to get fluffy but still thick and creamy. Definitely chill the mousse for a couple hours..that detail was left out. Thanks for sharing a great recipe..overall it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Unbelievably tasty, and not nearly as hard as I thought it would be. The Bailey's doesn't really come through that strongly, which is a good thing and a bad thing. If you like it boozy, double or triple the amount in there. Otherwise, it will just be a hint of taste-- which is just lovely, too. As for the comments about the serving immediately or refrigerating, I refrigerated for a couple of hours and it was firm, but still wonderfully light and fluffy. I would definitely recommend letting it sit in the fridge to firm up for a bit before serving. Makes dinner prep easier, too! :) Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I really liked this mousse, and i've found that if you place the ready made mousse and whipped cream into your glass, and place it all into the freezer overnight, you'll have a Vary Vary good frozen treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
5 stars with a few revisions. Whip the cream first adding about 1-2 Tablespoons of sugar to the cream very gradually. I used Ghiradelli dark chocolate chips and melted them in the microwave. I used 1/4 c Irish cream too. If you use a folding utensil the mousse comes out very smooth and creamy. Garnish with fresh mint or a chocolate mint tiny candy for a green color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I made this with my class, and at the last minute I had to exchange Irish Cream with raspberry. They loved it, and even I did--I don't really like chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
My first attempt failed because I let the chocolate get too cool after melting. The second time I made sure to get the yolks at room temperature and the chocolate was still a little bit warm. Neither the whipped cream nor the egg whites folded smoothly and I ended up using the mixer. In spite of all that, the texture and taste was very good. I think the recipe was just a bit advanced for my skills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Wow! Just made this for dessert tonight, and I'm really surprised how well it turned out! I love Irish Cream Liqueur in just about anything, and this was a perfect dessert for me! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
this is a WONDERFUL recipe! I read through all the reviews for recomendations and did change it up a bit ... I used ghiradehlli semi-sweet chocolate chips 'cause that is what I had in the house an increased the Baileys to 1/8 cup... I doubled the recipe and was the hit of the St. Patrick's Day party that I brought it to. My husband doesn't like sweet desserts and he LOVED this - beautiful texture and flavor ... I highly recomend this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
5 with changes. I gave it a 4 because the changes were noticeable. Increased Irish cream from 1tb to 4. Added 2 Tb of sugar to the whipped cream. Without changes is a bit to bitter and cant taste the Irish cream much. I incorporated all the whipped cream into the mouses instead of half of it. I incorporated it all with a whisk beater on my kitchenaid mixer...had no problem with incorporating the eggs etc and it did not come out eggy. I am not sure if I will makeit again though just due to the salmonella risk using uncooked eggs. OTOH the family loooved it....I served it topped with fresh strawberries. This says it makes 4 servings. It is so rich though that I really got 8 out of it. 4 is a large serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States