Ultimate High Altitude Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Oh my goodness! I found home. I'm from Traverse City, MI and moved to Flagstaff, AZ about three years ago. I was home sick one day and thought my grandma's cookies would cheer me up- cookies came out flat, hard with chocolate lumps. I was so upset, down-hearted and confused why. It wasn't until others in area told me I needed to add extra flour but then others said add water- nothing worked until now. I just ate my first cookie from the oven (from this recipe) and I was home again. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
We're at about 4,300 feet and I've been having a difficult time finding a good cookie recipe. I followed this one exactly and my husband and I really enjoyed this. The dough and cookies were VERY yummy! Thanks! (Afternote: These cookies have passed the 2 day test! They taste delicious even 2 days after being made! I won't be making any other chocolate/white chocolate chip cookies from here on out!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tahra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
These cookies are great! They remind me of the choc. chip cookie recipe from Cook's Illustrated, which is a good thing. I was too scared to tweak that recipe after moving from the Midwest to Denver, this is now my go to choc. chip cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grosse Pointe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I grew up in Oregon where altitude never affected cookie recipes but upon moving to Colorado 11 years ago I had yet to find a cookie recipe that made fluffy cookies until I found this one! I made the recipe exactly as it appears and the cookies turned out beautifully! I left the dough out while batches were cooking and learned that this dough needs to stay on the cooler side to provide optimal results. Also, these cookies are not quite as sweet as the premade doughs you can purchase at stores. But once you move past that, these cookies are delicious and soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This is a great recipe! I live just outside of Denver, about 5000 feet and it worked great. After reading other reviews, I doubled the choc. chips. I'm glad I did, they are just right with 2 cups of chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA
Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
These are amazing! I live at 6300 feet and have never made a successful cookie until now. I tried using the convection feature of my oven, but that didn't work at all. But 350 and just one cookie sheet at a time worked just fine. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
These cookies were just delicious! So glad we found this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
these are fantastic! i live at 7,900ft in colorado and the cookies turned out perfect! i used 3cups flour instead of 3 1/2 cups and really glad i did cause i think it would've been too much. other than that, stuck to the recipe as is and will use this every time i make choc chip cookies! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I live at 8500 feet, and followed the recipe precisely. The cookies looked nice and thick and the texture was great. But, we thought the flavor was lacking. The cookies were really plain. Also, there were very few chocolate chips per cookie. I probably won't make this recipe again, but if I did I would at least double the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Yeah! When I moved to Colorado, I thought I'd never be able to make a decent chocolate chip cookie again. The high altitude adjustments on the Toll House package make no difference. .. These cookies are great, slightly chewy, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Haig Cooreman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States