Ultimate High Altitude Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This recipe is AMAZING! I get the best cookies every time I make it. They are thick all the way through. I add a 1/2 cup extra chocolate chips. I live in Denver, CO and these come out perfect every time. I can't recommend this recipe enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I have been making these cookies for three years now, since I moved to a mountain town in Colorado - living at 8500 feet. Before finding this recipe, my cookies were horrible, which was tragic (as I love cookies, naturally). But this recipe seriously changed everything. I make no adjustments, apart from adding a little orange extract for a fun twist, and they turn out perfectly every time. I get complimented on them every time I bake them. So grateful for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I'm at 5300 feet. This recipe is perfect as-is in my oven. I did have to alter it slightly for my sister's oven (5200 feet, convection oven): 3/4 tsp baking soda, 3 3/4 cups flour, decrease oven temp to 325, place dough on a pre-heated stone, still bake for 10-12 minutes. In my opinion, better than Nestles Toll House cookies baked at lower altitude. Melt-in-your-mouth, much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Excellent cookies! Baked them twice so far and turned out perfectly both times... I substituted 1/2 c butter crisco and 1 tbsp water for half the butter though :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I live in Colorado and on a quest to learn how to bake in high altitude. I've baked using this recipe twice now, and the cookies turned out great both times. I must be generous with my heaping teaspoon because my dough gives me two dozens cookies instead of four. I use parchment paper after the first batch got stuck on the ungreased cookie sheets. Overall, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Made the recipe as is and they tasted like flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
So, we lived in Colorado Springs, CO and these cookies were perfect! We just moved down to Pueblo, and I went to make the cookies to take to neighbors and such, and they came out super flat (usually they're fluffly and chewy)... So, I tried again, triple checked everything I did, and they still came out extremely flat. What am I doing wrong? Or does anyone have any tips? We're at a little bit lower elevation than Colorado Springs, but it is a LOT dryer here since we are in the desert. I don't know if that affects anything? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
this recipe is scrumptious! with a family of four, the cookies are gone in a few hours at most. Every time i make these people ask for the recipe, and can't stop praising them. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I'm at 7000 feet - Santa Fe. Don't know what went wrong; I followed recipe exactly and these were the hardest cookies I've ever, ever had, like stones. The batter was so dry I had to form the cookies by squeezing the dough together. Seemed to need more moisture. Hate wasting ingredients like this. Never again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I live at 9494 feet and had just about given up on baking cookies. I've had so many failed attempts. I'm so glad that I found this recipe. Many thanks to the person who posted it! The cookies turned out picture perfect and taste wonderful. The were nice and puffy. They remind me of my mom's cookies. Love these cookies! I have hope again that I can bake at this altitude!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Matcha Green Tea Chocolate Chip Cookies

Soft and chewy pale green sugar cookies with white chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States