Ultimate High Altitude Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I live at 8500 feet, and followed the recipe precisely. The cookies looked nice and thick and the texture was great. But, we thought the flavor was lacking. The cookies were really plain. Also, there were very few chocolate chips per cookie. I probably won't make this recipe again, but if I did I would at least double the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Yeah! When I moved to Colorado, I thought I'd never be able to make a decent chocolate chip cookie again. The high altitude adjustments on the Toll House package make no difference. .. These cookies are great, slightly chewy, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Haig Cooreman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Yummy in Colorado, finally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Taste is good..but they didn't rise anymore than normal chocolate chip cookies. I'm at 6800 feet in CA..I'll have to still search for that perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
we live in Bogota, Colombia, and this is the first c/c recipe to work....but add more chocolate chips, at least 1 1/2 cups or the normal 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Boyfriend says these are the best cookies I have ever made. Big, soft, and kept well. We're at about 6,800 ft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
These had a good taste when fresh, but didn't work for me. Flat, flat, crunchy. I tried making big ones, small ones... nothing worked. I'm at 5,000 feet, and still searching for a cookie recipe that actually works at elevation... sigh. Disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freckles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I am at 7000 feet. This is the first chocolate chip cookie recipe that has resulted in a pancake cookie. They are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Baking at high altitude can be tricky, so thanks for sharing this recipe! I did make just a few adjustments. I substituted 1/2 c. of Splenda brown sugar mix for 1 c. of brown sugar. I also used Smart Balance 50/50 for baking instead of regular butter. Finally, I added 1 c. of Heath bar pieces. With these adjustments, I had to bake the cookies for the full 15 min., and they spread quite a bit. However, they still turned out soft and chewy. Without any adjustments, I'm guessing they would have been perfect -- I'll try that next time! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I've never had such good cookies made over 5000 ft before! I'll definately make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States