Ultimate Gulf Coast Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
JUST SIMPLY FABULOUS! I live in Virginia, where we don't get authentic gumbo very easily. The first time I tried this recipe, a friend of mine who's from New Orleans said that the gumbo was SO good that it reminded him of home. My family requests this dish from me more than any other I make! I've tweaked it over the years by adding Creole seasoning, scallops, bouillion seasoning, onion and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I made this recipe this weekend which came out very good. I was a little confused on the amount of chicken broth & amount of water? This must be a misprint because there is no way 1 cup of chicken broth & 1 cup of water is enough. I added 32oz of chicken broth & same amount of water, I also added put 2 bell peppers & a few more stalks of celery than it called for, I also added red pepper flakes & more cayenne pepper. At the end I added shrimp, this came out very rich & tasty, if you like it spicy! Will make again & adjust to my liking. Thanks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ty Roberson
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Delicious, I did not exactly follow the actual measurements for seasonings I based it off my taste. I also added okra and cod fish, clams and mussels to the final pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ty Roberson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Best gumbo I've ever had! I did add fresh okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This recipe is great the way it is, I don't eat seafood but when I made it for my husband who is a big seafood eater he loved it and all his friends..didn't change a thing thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
i loved it I however wanted more of a soup like so I just added more broth little extra seasonings and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Really good. My first time to make a homemade roux though. This recipe should tell you that your gonna be stirring way longer than several minutes !Also, I'm from east Tx. and I added Tony Chachere's plus the Old Bay, talk about the perfect kick!!One thing that the recipe messed up on is 1 tbs. of cayenne was in the ingrediants and them red pepper flakes were in one of the steps. Needless to say I used both,lol !! Good and spicy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
this is my family's favorite. my 7 year old requests this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Good, goood, good. Do over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This has got to be the best gumbo recipe out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States