Ultimate Gulf Coast Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
I've been wanting to try some gumbo for a long time and one day my husband found this recipe, and he's made it quite a few times since. We love it! Also, it does taste even better the next day. It's not quick to prepare, but after eating this, you know it was made with LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
mom this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Becca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2000
I served this recipe at our Super Bowl Party and got rave reviews. It's a wonderful blending of flavors. And, it's even better the day after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
This is a very good recipe for gumbo, especially if you are a seafood lover, as I am. If you follow the recipe you will end up with a very flavorful and chunky gumbo. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COMFORTKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Wow - this is wonderful. We had over friends and they loved it. One of them said it was the best meal he ever had - and he is in the restaurant business. I made a mistake and dumped the shrimp stock before I put it in the gumbo so I added chicken stock instead. It was still great. Nexttime I will by shrimp already peeled to save the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallory M.
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This recipe was great! It was my first time making this dish and I was very pleased with the results. All of the flavors came together so nicely and it was very filling! Had a little trouble with the rue but it didn't change the taste. My family enjoyed it alot. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Igave this recipe five stars because it is the best gumbo I've tasted. I did'nt put as much of the celery it call for instead I use a cup of green onion and a half cup of parsley. My family is from Louisiana an we never made gumbo without those two ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I tried this recipe for a friend who is a Gumbo expert and he loved it. He even wanted to take some home. I did cut down the cooking time by useing baked chicken from the deli. It only cost a couple dollars more but really added to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This gumbo is amazing. It is soo good and it does tastes better the day after. This is gone quickly in my house. The only thing I change is using fresh crab legs instead of imitaiton crab meat. This is a wonderful, wonderful gumbo and I love New Orleans cuisine. This one is certainly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I made this recipe twice already. It's delicious, and not very difficult at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarKerRaven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States