Ultimate Gulf Coast Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I tried this recipe for a friend who is a Gumbo expert and he loved it. He even wanted to take some home. I did cut down the cooking time by useing baked chicken from the deli. It only cost a couple dollars more but really added to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
We Loved It... Although In our state we do not sell FIle powder it turned out great my husband loved it and so did my kids 12 and 2 yrs old. THis was a wonderful dish thank you for posting it. Heather from Michigan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buckley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Interlochen, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
mom this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Becca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2005
This is a very good recipe for gumbo, especially if you are a seafood lover, as I am. If you follow the recipe you will end up with a very flavorful and chunky gumbo. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COMFORTKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
I was pretty disappointed with this recipe. It had all of the things that I love in a gumbo in the recipe, but the end product was thin and not flavorful enough for me. Considering how long it takes to make it and the expense, I really expected more. I won't make it again. I suggest trying different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
this one's good but it's nothing to write home about,but then again I'm not much on the blacken taste(that's just me) other than that it was really good, everybody else pretty much loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDW3264

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Deposit, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Igave this recipe five stars because it is the best gumbo I've tasted. I did'nt put as much of the celery it call for instead I use a cup of green onion and a half cup of parsley. My family is from Louisiana an we never made gumbo without those two ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
I've been wanting to try some gumbo for a long time and one day my husband found this recipe, and he's made it quite a few times since. We love it! Also, it does taste even better the next day. It's not quick to prepare, but after eating this, you know it was made with LOVE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2000
I served this recipe at our Super Bowl Party and got rave reviews. It's a wonderful blending of flavors. And, it's even better the day after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States