Ultimate Gulf Coast Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This is an excellent recipe! Used and modified it many times to suite the taste of many different people. For example, I substituted Zetairan's Creole seasoning for Olds Bay, and used dice Jalapenos’ peppers with fresh chopped Okra. Likewise, I used fresh crab meat vice canned, and Oysters as well. Everything else remained the same minus the File’, and subtle tweaks and additions to the remaining seasoning mix… Good job Mr. Wilson....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
So delicious my boyfriend proclaimed that he would eat it every day! I am making it again for this chilly summer night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This is one of those meals you'll burn your mouth to taste it because you've been looking forward to eating it for so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
i made this gumbo and i was suprised when my little ones liked it. i tweaked it a bit (meats & seafoods) and it came out great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by letha
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Id never made gumbo in my life and this turned out to be absolutely DELICIOUS! I had to hide two bowls for myself because it was going so fast. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
It's not a bad recipe, but not what I would call "ultimate". Being from SE Texas and LA, this is not the kind of gumbo I grew up on. Tony Chachares would be my seasoning of choice instead of old bay, as it has a spicier kick to it. I would also add oysters as an additional protien, cut the tomato out entirely, substitute 2 tblspns of chicken base for chicken broth, add a 1/4 cup of worcestershire sauce, and set out the filet on the table as a garnish alongside chopped green onions...but that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clay Stucker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lumberton, Texas, USA
Living In: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
great that there are people out there other than in the south that are trying this, i live in cenla (central louisiana) and grew up in southeast texas, and this is a meal i grew up eating once a week and i cook on a regular basis for my own family now! for my own, i never use chicken broth, i boil chicken breasts and use that as the base broth, i do not add tomatoes, we dont use any seasoning other than tony chacheres seasoning and garlic powder instead of all of the seasonings and herbs in here, while the chicken is boiling i add seasoning and the onions celery bell pepper... ONLY ONLY use andouille sausage no other types of sausage! we prefer beef! and the file is not necessary unless you want to add thickness to your own bowl after youve made it! also i dont use corn oil i just use vegetable oil and im sure whatever you have on hand would be fine, its such a versatile dish and seafood version is sooo good as well! we also love okra added to ours, fresh, canned or frozen any is fine whatever is more convienent for you! im excited about my culture being embraced by others! most of all, i hope you all enjoy, dont stress over it being perfect on this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davidbrookefreeman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Best gumbo I have found
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
super yummy!!! will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bec1nky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
The best gumbo ever!!!!! My husband and I can't order it at restaurants anymore without comparing theirs to mine. Needless to say, this recipe wins out every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States