Ultimate Guinness® Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Recipe Group: here's how I really feel! Guinness=Magic. This is the epitome of beef stew, which is incidentally torture to make because your house will smell divine and you can't eat the source for three hours. This recipe cannot be improved in any way. Thank you, thank you thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Wow loved this recipe. The house smelled great while this was cooking. Only change I made was add some mushrooms because we loved them. Also before I had heated the oil and bay leaves I had prepped the meat, onions and mushrooms ahead of time this to prevent the burning of the bay leave as per one reviewer had mentioned. Then as they were frying prepped the tatters and carrots. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Recipe Group Selection: 17, January 2015 ~ This review is based on only my DH opinion. I made this with venison rather than beef, that was my only change. He loved this dish! He loved the texture, the venison, the veggies and the broth, and he does NOT like Guinness® beer! He said the combination of the ingredients worked really well together. I purchased 1 can of Guinness® for this recipe. I freaked out when I poured the Guinness® in the pan. There was something in the can that moved. I got a flashlight to see what it was. It was a milky white ball. I told my hubby I thought it was an eyeball. He assured me it wasn't, but he took the can apart to be sure. LOL Never having purchased a can of Guinness® I wasn't aware that there is a ball of nitrous. It helps create the foamy frothiness when you pour out the beer. All that being said, hubby loved his dinner and told me to "feel free to make this one again!" Thanks dad2twins, for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Recipe group 1/17/2015: I love the flavor the beer imparts to this. The veggies and herbs this calls for are just right. I will make again. Not sure what I will do with 3 more bottles of Guinness, I I bet I think of something! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
We really enjoyed this. I made this with sirloin as it was cheaper than stewing beef. I also left out the potatoes and cabbage, personal preference, and added a package of petite gourmet mushrooms. I had everything prepped and ready before I started cooking. After reading the reviews I decided to add the bay leaf later than specified. It was fairly easy to put together and the aroma was amazing. It's a keeper!! Thanks dad2twins for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Overall, this was pretty yummy. I had to make a few small changes... I added a little more garlic than the recipe called for because we are garlic lovers in this house. Also, I did add the bay leaves to the oil, even though I was suspicious. Unfortunately, as I feared, they burnt to a crisp in no time at all. So I added some into the dish before it went into the oven so that the bay flavor could really get into there. And finally, I didn't add the fresh parsley until I pulled it out of the oven because if you add it too early, all the freshness and brightness will cook right out of it. The sauce was pretty yummy, even though I think there was a touch too much flour in it... didn't stop me from sopping it up with my bread! Might make again, with a few tweaks next time. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Made for Recipe Group. A good basic beef stew with bonus-Beer! Gives it a good flavor. I like that it preps on stovetop, then goes into the oven. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
made for recipe group 1/21/15: First of all, the flavor was really good and it was easy to prepare so I would make it again. However, the bay leaf burned in the pan before I could add the beef. I removed it and added another when moving to the oven. My only change was to use leftover, medium rare beef with a little extra broth to compensate for juices that fresh might have contributed. I halved the recipe, so used a 3qt pot, and after 2 hours the carrots were perfect, the potatoes were just done, and the onions all but disappeared. It came out of the oven with no liquid. There was a light coating on the chunks but I could have easily ate this from a plate with a fork. Since the description says to have some sopping bread handy, this was not the texture I expected. It tasted great but I then I added another 1.5 cups broth to get to what's in my photo. I would make it again but with more liquid from the start(both beer and broth so as not to change the flavor ratio).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Recipe Group 1/17/2015: I have to admit when I tasted the liquid before it went into the oven - I began to think about Plan B for dinner! It was very bitter and all I could taste was the Guinness. HOWEVER, after 3 hours the flavour mellowed and it came together really well. I added the potatoes at the beginning and the carrots an hour later. The carrots were perfect but the potatoes a little overdone. Next time I would add the potatoes later, as well. The herbs and seasoning were delicious and the gravy was just the right consistency. In the last hour, I did add a teaspoon of sugar and a tablespoon of tomato paste to round out the flavours. I also found that I needed additional beef broth (but that could just be my pot and/or oven). Nice one-pot meal for a winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anninlondon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Recipe Group. Pros...no tomato products or canned or packaged soups. Easily cooked in the oven with no chance of burning in my overly hot slow cooker. Meat and veg perfectly done in 3 hrs. Cons....very bitter &/or sour taste. No beef flavor. I added a TBS sugar about 2.5 hrs which improved it considerably. The only tweak I made was to omit the potatoes. I served this over green beans. 4 stars from DH, 2 from me so 3 over all. Guess I'm just not a Guinness fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States