Ultimate Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Wow. These were really delicious and so easy to prepare. Next time I will probably omit the butter as it didn’t really add to the taste but it did add to the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Note: The 2 slices of bacon is a typo, it was originally 2 ounces of slab bacon (although I have used sliced bacon with equally god results as well). Thanks for the reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
What a fabulous recipe!!! Made these several times and there were no left overs. On one occasion I omitted the bacon and they were just as delicious without it. A delicious recipe for green beans and an easy one to prepare. Will make these many more times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hedgesville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I only made half a recipe since it was just for Hubs and me, so it didn't require 15 minutes to cook the beans until crisp/tender and for them to retain their brilliant color. Bacon makes any vegetable better and I include it frequently, but I found the minced onion and lemon to be nice additions that really perked this up. I left out the red pepper flakes and didn't miss it - I don't think including it or not makes these beans any better one way or the other. They'd be delicious either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I made this today with fresh picked green beans. I used pork sausage pattie grease instead of bacon and chicken broth instead of water. It was so fun to make and delicious! I will definately make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
My go-to green bean recipe for nice dinners or when we have people over. The trick is not to overcook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lrconner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this for a work Christmas party and it was very well recieved--enough that I didn't get to sample it myself! I heard varying comments on the spice, from "just enough kick" to "too spicy for me". However the overall opinion was excellent dish. Maybe 1/2 the red pepper flakes, for those with spice sensitivities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I have been making this recipe for a long time, but an easier way is to cook the bacon with the onions, dry on paper towel, save til later. Steam the fresh green beans with garlic salt and pepper until dark green but still crispy. Pour water out from steamer or double broiler, return beans to the pan and add the bacon onion mixture, stiring until blended. Add some sliced almond on top. I also make these with redskins in one pan as they show on the picture. The bacon seeps into the potatoes and it is a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Excellant! I did leave out the butter to make it a bit healthier. One note I will say, if you use frozen "fresh" beans (like those you've frozen out the garden) you do not need nearly the boiling water. I ended up with very watery beans, scooping some out for dinner, and leaving the rest in the pan while the water reduced. This made the beans get a bit grayer than I'm sure they're supposed to be. But very, very yummy! I will be making these for our family Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaRabbit678

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These were delicious with a nice kick from the red pepper flakes. To be healthier, use olive oil in place of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States