Ultimate Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Okay, so I rate these a four, but I had to substitute one of the most essential ingredients to make this (fresh green beans) - and though it came out good, I think it would be better to rate this recipe with the fresh beans. I had to use can beans because my grocer was all out of fresh beans. I did everything the same, except instead of water I used the can juice. I also seasoned my beans with a touch of paprika and garlic powder and added quartered small red potatoes. My family loved this, but I will have to make it again with fresh beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
These are AWESOME!!! I have a hard time getting my husband to eat any green vegetable and he loves these! Will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I added the bacon back in at the end and I added french onion soup mix to the boiling water, too. Really added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HanoverHockeyMN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This not only looked good on the table, but tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Independence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
What doesn’t bacon make taste better? The good news is that just a small amount of bacon adds a lot of flavor without breaking the nutritional bank. I cooked the onion and bacon, omitting the red pepper flakes, ahead and then steamed the beans right before I was ready to serve them. I served them with a marinated roasted pork tenderloin, corn risotto, and Spectacular Marsala Glazed Carrots with Hazelnuts from this site. It was a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Super easy and turns out good every time. Depending on quantity, sometimes i have to let them cook a little longer after adding the water, but i just "taste test" a bean here and there to see when they are tender. Workes well with haricort vert also instead of regular beans. All Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Excellant! I did leave out the butter to make it a bit healthier. One note I will say, if you use frozen "fresh" beans (like those you've frozen out the garden) you do not need nearly the boiling water. I ended up with very watery beans, scooping some out for dinner, and leaving the rest in the pan while the water reduced. This made the beans get a bit grayer than I'm sure they're supposed to be. But very, very yummy! I will be making these for our family Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaRabbit678

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These were delicious with a nice kick from the red pepper flakes. To be healthier, use olive oil in place of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sosumi Ydontya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Great alternative to the traditional green bean casserole. My family loved it :-) I would definitely recommend using fresh green beans, and make sure not to overcook them..... really good and easy recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I really liked this recipe. I usually don't care for green beans but I thought I'd try some fresh home made. I followed the recipe for 2 to a tee. The reason I am only giving it 4 stars is because it was too spicy for me. Next time I will omit the spice. Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States