Ultimate Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Excellant! I did leave out the butter to make it a bit healthier. One note I will say, if you use frozen "fresh" beans (like those you've frozen out the garden) you do not need nearly the boiling water. I ended up with very watery beans, scooping some out for dinner, and leaving the rest in the pan while the water reduced. This made the beans get a bit grayer than I'm sure they're supposed to be. But very, very yummy! I will be making these for our family Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaRabbit678

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These were delicious with a nice kick from the red pepper flakes. To be healthier, use olive oil in place of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Great alternative to the traditional green bean casserole. My family loved it :-) I would definitely recommend using fresh green beans, and make sure not to overcook them..... really good and easy recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I really liked this recipe. I usually don't care for green beans but I thought I'd try some fresh home made. I followed the recipe for 2 to a tee. The reason I am only giving it 4 stars is because it was too spicy for me. Next time I will omit the spice. Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I want to give this 5 stars, but between the bacon grease and the butter, I cannot, lol, as delicious as it was, I would definitely only make once in awhile! I had 2 helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SASSYSAUTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Doubled the recipe for a church Board Meeting Supper. They turned out great, and everyone loved them! The only thing I changed was that I used Vegetable Broth instead of water, and added a touch of garlic. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I thought that the bag of trimmed and cleaned green beans I bought was 1 lb. Nope, it was 12 ozs. No problem. I kept all of the measurements as written except decreased to 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes. The cooking time was perfect for my beans. Thank you, Eric. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
These were perfect! I made them exactly as written and my DH loved these! I'll definately make these for company too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loydafr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Sturgis, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this for a work Christmas party and it was very well recieved--enough that I didn't get to sample it myself! I heard varying comments on the spice, from "just enough kick" to "too spicy for me". However the overall opinion was excellent dish. Maybe 1/2 the red pepper flakes, for those with spice sensitivities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Fabulous, easy, excellent recipe. Followed it to a T minus the lemon cause I didn't have any. Initially thought it might be a little spicy but it was perfect. Did reduce the butter with little flavor consequence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doinit200

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States