Ultimate Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This was amazing. New family staple. Maple bacon gave it some good punch and a dash of sweetness. Plus I used canned green beans instead of fresh (taking out the need to add water to steam them) and it was still an amazingly tasty and still healthy dish! Props!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Weird mix of flavors. Too much going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Shibley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Fabulous recipe! My family loved it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Yummy. My daughter refuses to eat fresh green beans (she loves the ones from the can), but I'm on a mission to eat healthier. These were a good compromise. She didn't love them, but didn't hate them. I call that a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Okay, so I rate these a four, but I had to substitute one of the most essential ingredients to make this (fresh green beans) - and though it came out good, I think it would be better to rate this recipe with the fresh beans. I had to use can beans because my grocer was all out of fresh beans. I did everything the same, except instead of water I used the can juice. I also seasoned my beans with a touch of paprika and garlic powder and added quartered small red potatoes. My family loved this, but I will have to make it again with fresh beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
These are AWESOME!!! I have a hard time getting my husband to eat any green vegetable and he loves these! Will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I added the bacon back in at the end and I added french onion soup mix to the boiling water, too. Really added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HanoverHockeyMN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This not only looked good on the table, but tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Independence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
What doesn’t bacon make taste better? The good news is that just a small amount of bacon adds a lot of flavor without breaking the nutritional bank. I cooked the onion and bacon, omitting the red pepper flakes, ahead and then steamed the beans right before I was ready to serve them. I served them with a marinated roasted pork tenderloin, corn risotto, and Spectacular Marsala Glazed Carrots with Hazelnuts from this site. It was a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Super easy and turns out good every time. Depending on quantity, sometimes i have to let them cook a little longer after adding the water, but i just "taste test" a bean here and there to see when they are tender. Workes well with haricort vert also instead of regular beans. All Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States