Ultimate Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I thought these were good. The onions caramelized in the pan, which was very good! The bacon added a nice, salty bite. My only issue with them is that I think 15 minutes was a little long--the beans started to lose a lot of their green by that time. Also, I could not taste the lemon juice, and that is too bad, because I was really looking forward to a lemony flavor. Next time, I think I will cut the cooking time down a bit and add a touch more lemon. My other complaint was my own fault--they were a little greasy because the kind of bacon I used (read: cheap) gave off a lot more drippings than I think the author's must have. These are a nice change of pace, and I will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I have been making this recipe for a long time, but an easier way is to cook the bacon with the onions, dry on paper towel, save til later. Steam the fresh green beans with garlic salt and pepper until dark green but still crispy. Pour water out from steamer or double broiler, return beans to the pan and add the bacon onion mixture, stiring until blended. Add some sliced almond on top. I also make these with redskins in one pan as they show on the picture. The bacon seeps into the potatoes and it is a meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I tried this recipe last year and forgot to rate it. Needless to say, family members are begging for me to bring these green beans for Thanksgiving. Of all the other fixings, this one is the ONE that stands out. They turned out delicious and I am ever so grateful for this recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VickiV17

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I made this yesterday,everyone loved it. they asked me to make it again tonight. The only thing i did different was i added a little garlic.Great with or without the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Howland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This was amazing. New family staple. Maple bacon gave it some good punch and a dash of sweetness. Plus I used canned green beans instead of fresh (taking out the need to add water to steam them) and it was still an amazingly tasty and still healthy dish! Props!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Weird mix of flavors. Too much going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Shibley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Fabulous recipe! My family loved it. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Yummy. My daughter refuses to eat fresh green beans (she loves the ones from the can), but I'm on a mission to eat healthier. These were a good compromise. She didn't love them, but didn't hate them. I call that a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Okay, so I rate these a four, but I had to substitute one of the most essential ingredients to make this (fresh green beans) - and though it came out good, I think it would be better to rate this recipe with the fresh beans. I had to use can beans because my grocer was all out of fresh beans. I did everything the same, except instead of water I used the can juice. I also seasoned my beans with a touch of paprika and garlic powder and added quartered small red potatoes. My family loved this, but I will have to make it again with fresh beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
These are AWESOME!!! I have a hard time getting my husband to eat any green vegetable and he loves these! Will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States