Ultimate French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I added two tablespoons more milk (I did use lactose-free milk, as my youngest boy has a milk allergy), upped the cinnamon to a half teaspoon and I added a splash of vanilla extract. I chose to use Wonder Texas Toast--what happened is I was able to make five pieces of french toast because the bread was quite a bit thicker than your average white bread. The kids loved it. NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This definitely is "good old fashioned french toast" - one of my all time breakfast favorites! I don't know if I'd call this "ultimate" and everyone has their own particular way of making french toast to their liking. I add a little more milk, some white sugar, a tsp. of vanilla and a bit of nutmeg along with the cinnamon to the mixture. And just as the submitter states, serve hot wtih butter and maple syrup (a little dusting of powdered sugar never hurt either) - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
Of course this is just a plain old fashioned french toast recipe! Isn't that what's it's all about? With all of the more "gourmet" type french toast recipes on this site, I'm sure there are plenty of novice cooks out there who welcome knowing how to make this basic comforting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I love french toast. I adjust the eggs to however many slices of bread I use. Usually use french, italian or white bread. I start out with 2 eggs and a little bit of milk and sprinkle in cinnamon and about 1/4 tsp. of vanilla extract. Then sprinkle additional cinnamon on each side. Sometimes I've even added a touch of orange juice to eggs. Then I fry in oil until crispy. People that have had it say it is the best french toast. Such a good flavor with the vanilla and cinnamon. Try it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
This was a great french toast recipe. I added a little more cinnamon and some vanilla extract. It was the best french toast I've ever had. I'd definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Took advice and added 1 tbsp vanilla, increased the cinnamon...and voila! Absolutely perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UKJESSI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
This is a simple, old fashioned recipe that reminds me of when I was a kid...I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Both of my little ones really enjoyed this. I did add some sugar to the batter because I don't like to drown their slices in syrup. My son enjoyed his with peanut butter. Thanks for this simple but kid-friendly recipe Sevanna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
What a quick and easy recipe! My son and I really liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
It was alright...just pretty standard with nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States