Ultimate French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
This was okay. The egg batter was very thick though and the bread didn't really get moist in the middles. I had more than enough batter and could have gotten by with half the amount. It turned out fine, but wasn't my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Tanya
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This is a really good base recipe however when making it, it just felt like it was missing something so I added a bit of nutmeg (about half as much as the cinnamon) and it was awesome. I was able to cook it 8 slices up on my griddle. I used thick slice bread and there was none left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Very nice, very simple recipe. The batter made 5 slices and I cut the bread in half to make it easier to dip and cook. My fiance totally loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
great basic recipe for french toast. can always use add-ons and improvements but, hey, sometimes simple things are the most delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
when I was younger, my family would cook several batches and then we would reheat them in the toaster before school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evanston, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This recipe is easy and good. Definitely fulfilled my french toast craving. I used texas style bread. I did add 1t vanilla. Topped with syrup and fresh cut strawberries. ALSO, very important step my mom taught me... TOAST THE BREAD FIRST in the toaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Thanks! Now I know how to make french toast! that's all i was looking for :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Great french toast...not soggy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richton Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
I followed this and made a low cal version, I used fat free milk, whole wheat bread and egg beaters. Classic french toast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I loved this recipe, but added 1 teaspoon vanilla, 1 TBSP cinnamon, 2 Tsp sugar, and 2 TBSP heavy cream. Also depending on the type of bread you are using don't let it soak too long, or it will get very wet and be hard to get in the pan. Also whisk your eggs, cinnamon and vanilla all together before adding milk or cream to evenly disperse the cinnamon througout, otherwise your cinnamon will clump.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States