Ultimate Cranberry Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This cake was wonderful! It was a nice change from the usual desserts we have after Christmas dinner. The butter sauce takes this cake from good to great! I can't wait to make it again next Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomMelton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Castroville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I made this for Christmas day dinner and it was a huge hit! My guests were clamoring for hot butter sauce by phone the next day! Really simple but cake took a full fifteen minutes longer to cook than instructions, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I love to bake and bake all the time and this was one of my favorites! The tart cranberries with the rich butter sauce make a great contrast with the moist not overly sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
The hot butter sauce is amazing but no one liked the cake that much. Everyone use the butter sauce for the other desserts on the Christmas buffet table. Also - I cooked my cake for 80 minutes and it was still somewhat raw in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I followed the recipe without alterations. The cake was far too dense. Even the butter sauce could not save it! My family did not care for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This cake came out excellent and was easy to make. I used fresh cranberries and found it delicious and very tart. The butter-sugar sauce alleviated some of the tartness nicely. Beautiful presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karen K.
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
The cake is really REALLY rich. it does have a really nice flavor however. for the topping I used half and half instead of cream due to resources and I thought it to taste even better. 3 bites was about all i could take this cake was just too rich for me and my family- have a big glass of milk nearby if you intend to eat a whole slice. otherwise very very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen K.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
This is a great recipe! If you don't like the tartness of the cranberries, just use dried cherries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritajennings

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I took this to a gathering of friends the other night, and every single one wanted the recipe. It is terrific! I baked one with the orange juice variation offered by one reviewer, and one without, and they were equally delicious. The sauce is really, really rich, and "just a dab will do you."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
This cake is fantastic! It wasn't quiet done after an hour but I took it out because I was afraid it would get dry. I shouldn't have, it needed to bake a little longer, but it was still great. I added a little whiskey to the sauce. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

How to Decorate a Candy Cane Cake

This festive candy cane cake will delight your holiday guests.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States