Ultimate Cranberry Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I loved this recipie made a large cake and the sauce was great. Bette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This reminds me of a cake my mom used to make growing up every Christmas. It's weird that it doesn't have eggs in it. It makes for a dense cake if you like that. I didn't use evaporated milk, I used 1/2 milk and 1/2 orange juice. It's fine without the butter sauce, but the sauce does take it to another level. If you're going to bake in a bundt pan, I would recommend not baking it at 325. Bake it at 350. That lower heat will never get you a nice browned top of your cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent! I made it as one of my Christmas desserts this year and when the hostess wants the recipe you know it's good. P:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hpfrenken

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I wanted to make this recipe to take along on a family party. I followed the directions and the cake popped out of the pan. It appeared nice and moist....but flavor just tasted pasty to me. Maybe an addition of some flavoring to the mix. Orange extract, vanilla,or just cover the cake with glaze before it's served. Suzibell818
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This cake replaces my "former" favorite cranberry cake recipe! It's wonderful. The only addition I made after reading some of the reviews about lack of flavor was to add 1 1/2 teaspoon Almond Extract. I served this for a dinner party of ten. I made the full amount of Hot Butter Sauce and just passed it around, those that didn't take some the first time around soon put a spoonful on theirs when they heard all the oohs and aahs! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
The mixed reviews are interesting for this cake. It seems that people either love it or hate it. I thought it was excellent, although I made two very minor changes. First, I used 8 tablespoons of butter rather than six--there is just very little fat in this recipe, and I thought it would help. Since I haven't tried it with only six, I can't really compare the original with what I made, but the 8 tablespoons worked very well and I suspect that the cake is a bit moister as a result. I also did not want to open two cans of evaporated milk to get two cups. Instead, I used a 12 oz. can and added 4 oz of regular milk. Again, this worked well. I have a feeling that the people who don't like the cake are folks who were expecting a super sweet dessert. This cake is not super sweet, and that is what I prefer in a dessert. If you're looking for ultrasweet cake, you will probably be disappointed. However, this is why the sauce works so well--the sauce, which is excellent, is very, very sweet. I think the sauce pairs well with the tartness of the fresh cranberries. I'm also likely to use the sauce with other cakes--I have an apple bundt cake that would be perfect with the sauce. Overall, a very good recipe that I will add to my holiday arsenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Delicious!! A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This cake tasted like butter. Not the best cake I have ever made. My family liked it but I did not. There are way too many ingredients and it's too expensive to make for such poor quality. I will not be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly. It's delicious! I made this for a holiday party and received rave reviews. It's important to serve it right away. The warm butter sauce is to die for ... YUM! This is really different and perfect for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I made this recipe for Christmas ladies get-to-gether and served with coffee and they loved it. It was so delicious and perfect for the holidays. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States