Ultimate Cranberry Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is absolutely a keeper! I made this for a Christmas party without trying it out first and was a bit worried. This was so, so quick and easy to make with very few ingredients, but it doesn't look or taste like it. I read other reviews and followed some suggestions. Instead of 6 TBS butter, I just put in the whole stick, an extra 2 TBS. And since one can of evaporated milk is only 1 1/2 cups, I added OJ for the extra 1/2 cup. It added just a hint of flavor. I might get daring and add more next time. The thought of "butter sauce" didn't sound very appealing, but it was incredible! The sauce on the cake made for a great presentation and was so delicious. Everyone loved it, many had seconds. I didn't see one bite left on a plate. There was a little left over and I couldn't keep myself from having it for breakfast. I just had the cake, no sauce. It was very moist despite other reviews, really good on it's own with a cup of coffee. I wouldn't serve it without the sauce as a dessert, it really is the sauce that makes they cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Very good taste - the tartness of the cranberries balanced all the sugar nicely. I did use 1/2 evaporated milk and 1/2 orange juice as some reviews said the cake was just ok or bland, and I did use Grand Marnier instead of vanilla. My family loved this cake; said it was great. I thought the cake seemed a bit doughy more so than like pudding but maybe I should've cooked it another 5 minutes (I did 55 minutes). It still tasted really good. The sauce was yummy and essential to this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Found this cake to be too excessively sweet. I did however like the infusion of the cranberries, but will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Big hit at Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Anderson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I made this for a birthday party (adults). It looked beautiful but it was very dense. I would recommend it for a breakfast cake or coffee cake but not for an evening or party dessert. The sauce while delicious is mostly sugar. The name of the recipe makes people think it is a pudding cake and moist but it is not. That being said if you warm it in the oven or toast it, it is delicious. Served cold even with the hot butter sauce it is not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
The fresh cranberries make this a hit. Pick up some vanilla powder and use it instead of extract and you'll bring in more of the cake flavor that others have said it missing. You could also probably half the hot butter sauce recipe and still have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRaiderBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made this for a dinner party and everyone had seconds. I made a couple of alterations: used 8 tbsp of butter in the cake, added one egg (only because I made my husband run to the store to get me some before I realized I didn't actually need them!), used a full pound of cranberries and 2 tsp of vanilla, baked at 350 for just over an hour. I also poked some holes in the cake and soaked it with about 1/2 cup of the sauce while it was cooling. Only made a half batch of the sauce and it was plenty, as others indicated. Served with an orange whipped cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I have made this a few times now and everybody loves it. One of my daughters is at Ft. Campbell with my son-in-law and was upset she couldn't get home this Christmas for this cake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haines City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Amazing recipe! We want to use the sauce on everything. I really like the cake, too. Without the sauce, it would definitely need something to add moisture or sweetness, but you can't judge the cake on it's own, if the butter sauce is part of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Our family has made this recipe since I was a child half a century ago (and long before). In her memoirs my now late mother (who would have been 100 yrs old this year) wrote: "The least I ever got was a dollar a week, and your room and board. And I used to work all winter…usually, for the same party…I think one winter I changed jobs, ‘cause, while I was getting the dollar a week, I found a place where I could get three dollars a week. I’d work until, well, until it was time to get home again to help, usually it was the beginning or middle of April. The first year that I worked in there, it wasn’t so bad yet, the Depression. I think that was 1930. That cranberry pudding recipe came from Mrs. Bosworth’s in Milwaukee. I was working for them on Lake Drive, one of the first places I worked, when I went doing housework in Milwaukee. I got eight dollars a week, which was pretty good money at that time yet. She had warned me that I may not copy any of her recipes. Well, heck, she didn’t know what I was doing in the kitchen, and a lot of times she wasn’t home, so I copied the cranberry pudding recipe. I got a couple of other recipes yet, but I never make the other things. The cranberry pudding is still going pretty strong nowadays." And indeed it is. My traditional Christmas dinner job is the making of the cranberry pudding. I'll be making it again this Wednesday - Christmas 2013… …and thanks Mrs. Bosworth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrmike

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States