Ultimate Cranberry Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Big hit at Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I made this for a birthday party (adults). It looked beautiful but it was very dense. I would recommend it for a breakfast cake or coffee cake but not for an evening or party dessert. The sauce while delicious is mostly sugar. The name of the recipe makes people think it is a pudding cake and moist but it is not. That being said if you warm it in the oven or toast it, it is delicious. Served cold even with the hot butter sauce it is not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
The fresh cranberries make this a hit. Pick up some vanilla powder and use it instead of extract and you'll bring in more of the cake flavor that others have said it missing. You could also probably half the hot butter sauce recipe and still have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRaiderBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Made this for a dinner party and everyone had seconds. I made a couple of alterations: used 8 tbsp of butter in the cake, added one egg (only because I made my husband run to the store to get me some before I realized I didn't actually need them!), used a full pound of cranberries and 2 tsp of vanilla, baked at 350 for just over an hour. I also poked some holes in the cake and soaked it with about 1/2 cup of the sauce while it was cooling. Only made a half batch of the sauce and it was plenty, as others indicated. Served with an orange whipped cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I have made this a few times now and everybody loves it. One of my daughters is at Ft. Campbell with my son-in-law and was upset she couldn't get home this Christmas for this cake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Haines City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Amazing recipe! We want to use the sauce on everything. I really like the cake, too. Without the sauce, it would definitely need something to add moisture or sweetness, but you can't judge the cake on it's own, if the butter sauce is part of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Our family has made this recipe since I was a child half a century ago (and long before). In her memoirs my now late mother (who would have been 100 yrs old this year) wrote: "The least I ever got was a dollar a week, and your room and board. And I used to work all winter…usually, for the same party…I think one winter I changed jobs, ‘cause, while I was getting the dollar a week, I found a place where I could get three dollars a week. I’d work until, well, until it was time to get home again to help, usually it was the beginning or middle of April. The first year that I worked in there, it wasn’t so bad yet, the Depression. I think that was 1930. That cranberry pudding recipe came from Mrs. Bosworth’s in Milwaukee. I was working for them on Lake Drive, one of the first places I worked, when I went doing housework in Milwaukee. I got eight dollars a week, which was pretty good money at that time yet. She had warned me that I may not copy any of her recipes. Well, heck, she didn’t know what I was doing in the kitchen, and a lot of times she wasn’t home, so I copied the cranberry pudding recipe. I got a couple of other recipes yet, but I never make the other things. The cranberry pudding is still going pretty strong nowadays." And indeed it is. My traditional Christmas dinner job is the making of the cranberry pudding. I'll be making it again this Wednesday - Christmas 2013… …and thanks Mrs. Bosworth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrmike

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
A little dense. Cranberries were yummy. Did without the glaze. Just an ok recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Loved this, we made it for Christmas and it was so good, just the right amount of sweetness and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I really enjoyed this cake. Did add 1t vanilla extract and 1/2t nutmeg. I used a different butter sauce recipe to use up ingredients - 1/2c butter, 1/2c evaporated milk, 1/2c sugar (recipe called for 1c), 1/2t cinnamon. Thanks for the recipe... love cranberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States