Ultimate Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This tastes awesome. Don't pay attention to recipe snobs who rate depending on how thier grandma made something. If it tastes great then rate it appropriately. I made a couple chnages to taste...1T honey, 1/2 cup corn, and used larger Lasagna dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Good and tasty but too buttery - and I only used 1 cup of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ward'sgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
very nice taste. great texture but NOT a corn bread. I would term it more a corn cake. Very light and fluffy. I really enjoyed it. If your looking for dense traditional bread style this would not be it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I normally do not give a 3 rating (I just do not rate at all) but felt that the reason this bread can be dry and fall apart is using biscuit mix. Have rarely had success, to my way of baking, using bicuit mixes. They are something to be used as a last resort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Absolutely the best ever. I do use a 9x13 pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wolf Point, Montana, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very tasty and moist with good cornbread flavor. Not a traditional, crumbly cornbread, but wonderful. Needed to bake 20 minutes longer than recipe stated due to high liquid content. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALMETTOMEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This recipe is awesome and easy to make. The crumb is very nice and the nutmeg was a nice change from traditional recipes. The only change I made was to lessen the butter by 1/4 cup and I baked it in a Pyrex 7 x 10 2 quart pan. If you leave it to cool for 20-25 minutes it holds together very well. If you are looking for a traditional recipe this is not it but it is great and goes very well with a bowl of chili. This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing it with us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
this cornbread is so buttery and moist. Everyone that eats it loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Great recipe! I'm asked to make it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I love this recipe. My family, my husband especially, looks forward to me making this dish every Thanksgiving. We love the way it taste. We all agree that it is so much better that boxed cornbread mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States