Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Oh wow, this definitely is one of the "Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies"! These cookies are chocolatey, chewy on this inside and crispy on the outside - just perfect! The only thing I did differently was to use half white sugar and half brown sugar. I love the combination of chocolate and pecans! I always line my baking sheet with parchment paper to ensure a good baking experience. Be sure to have a tall glass of ice cold milk handy as you're gonna want to eat a bunch of these warm from the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I LOVE this recipe - have fine-tuned just a little - substitute real butter for butter flavored Crisco, increase the flour to 2 1/4 cups (need more flour when using real butter), and use Girardelli Milk Chocolate Chips - BEST chocolate chip cookie recipe EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highwood, Montana, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
These are hands down the best way to make a choc chip cookie. I do split the sugar. 3/4 C brown and 3/4 cup White but other than that, PERFECT!!!!!! Crisco makes a better cookie than butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe, but we did substitute the Crisco for Real Butter as we do not use hydrogenated oils. You can also substitute 1/2 portion lard and 1/2 portion butter in place of the Crisco for amazing results. You get the light flakiness and the butter flavor along with a bunch of Vitamin A & D.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
These are the best chocolate chip cookies. You can also use other types of nuts and different flavored chips to change it up. I made these but didn't have butter flavored Crisco, so I substituted 1/4c butter and 1/2c regular Crisco and they turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Excellent. ****NOTES: do not over bake! Also a stick of criso is one cup. So 3/4 stick would be 3/4 cup out of a tub of crisco. The sticks are too expensive for me. Also, you must use butter flavored crisco, not regular. For an extra kick, add about 1/8 cup of molasses to the creamed mixture. FAB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie-Kate

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Even though I think there should be an alternate to the 3/4 stick of CRISCO® Butter All-Vegetable Shortening Sticks, the recipe is great and tastes fabulous! I love the how it's gooey on the inside and crunchy on the outside! It tastes sensational with a glass of cold milk! I absolutely love this recipe and I have never added a substitute for it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelthuylinh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Good for a quick cookie using on hand pantry ingredients. Because I'm low on brown sugar, I used half white/half brown. I also used almost all organic ingredients. I prefer using a mixture of milk chocolate, semi-sweet and extra dark chocolate chips. 350* for eight minutes was just right for me. NOTE: This makes a for a good ice cream/frozen whipped topping cookie sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Use butter! These cookies look beautiful and have great texture but are lacking in the rich chocolate and vanilla flavor that you expect in a great chocolate chip cookie. They have a shortening aftertaste that lingers. The Hersheys and Toll House recipes on the chocolate chip packages are much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Made these with GF flour mix and subbed 1/2 c honey for brown sugar and they still turned out puffy, beautiful, and delicious. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobbycook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States