Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
My family has ALWAYS used Crisco in place of butter. People always ask why our cookies taste so much better than everyone else's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I've been making these delicious Butter Flavored Crisco Chocolate Chip Cookies for 13 years. My family and church loves them. Always so chewy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G. White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This is the best chocolate chip cookie recipe I have ever tried! The edges are slightly crisp and the centers are always chewy. Best part is, the cookies stay moist over a number of days! I always add about half a cup to a cup of walnuts and it adds a delicious twist. I made some adjustments to the recipe: I use only about 3/4 the amount of salt (because it can get too salty) and I add only about one to one and a half teaspoons of vanilla instead of the full tablespoon. I just don't think that you need that much vanilla. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
YIKES! I thought I would give these a whirl, as many swear by baking with Crisco. The texture was decent, but the flavor was not. Not good at all I am afraid. There was this weird lingering after taste as well. Also, there is no way this makes 36, unless they are the size of a quarter. I will go back to my tried and true (which is an altered version of the Toll House recipe on the bag! : 1&1/4 c. brown sugar, 1/4 cup gran. sugar creamed with 2 sticks soft unsalted butter. Add in 1 tsp vanilla and one whole egg and one egg yolk. 2&1/4 cups bread flour, 1tsp baking soda, 1 tsp salt, 1 -12 oz. bag of semi sweet choc chips. Always use real butter ladies and gentlemen. Save the crisco for a squeaky hinge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Baity

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harvard, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I'm giving this four stars for the original recipe. (I omit the nuts. Too expensive.) As far as I'm concerned, this is THE chocolate chip cookie recipe, the gold standard, although chocolate chip is only my second-favorite cookie. (My #1 favorite is oatmeal-raisin). To make it, IMHO, a five-star recipe, I made one "major" change. Instead of using all semisweet chocolate chips, I use half milk chocolate chips and half semisweet because to me, all milk chocolate is too sweet, and all semisweet isn't sweet enough, so the two sweetnesses balance each other out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
i've been using their recipe for years ... it's GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I have been using this recipe for years, I believe it was on a Crisco box back in the 1990's and it's the best. I try others, but not as good as this one. Everyone loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I would give this recipe more than five stars if I could. I have been baking these cookies for years as the recipe was handed down to me by my great grandmother. These cookies are perfect just the way the recipe is written. Nothing needs to be changed. Especially the brown sugar and the Crisco. Almost everyone who tries these cookies asks for the recipe and tells me that I make the best chocolate chip cookies ever and it's all due to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
These are very good, however, I still like my recipe from Cooks.com ...Best Chocolate Chip Cookies, that uses instant pudding in the mix. The cookies are never flat. They retain the "puffy" look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Absolutely the best! They keep their shape much better than cookies made with real butter (the dough doesn't spread out so thin), yet taste buttery. Wonderful exactly as the recipe is written, but also great with a mix of milk chocolate chips and the semi-sweet chips. I sometimes add another quarter cup of the chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States