Ultimate Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I got great reviews on this recipe. I made a couple substitutions though - I used Cream of Mushroom soup instead of Cream of Chicken (I'm not sure why all these recipes call for Cream of Chicken - it really doesn't make culinary sense) and since I didn't have any ham prepared, I just used 2 cups of crushed bacon. I also pretty much doubled the cheese called for an put it all together in a larger pan (probably 11 x 15) As for mixing the ingredients together and 'pouring' over the eggs... you more or less have to spread it over the eggs - it's not a real pourable mixture. I think next time I might just mix the eggs in - would have about the same results. Additionally, an entire 1/4 cup of melted butter isn't needed - this is just too much butter. Just melt enough butter to douse the top with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAIBREAK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This was a hit at a breakfast we had at work! I did tweak it based on the recommendations of others. I added some salt and red pepper. I also used sausage instead of ham, cream of mushroom instead of cream of chicken, I added 6 eggs and mixed them in with all the other ingrediants. I also cooked the hasbrowns beforehand and I added green peppers and onions to it. I left out the butter and used shredded cheddar cheese on top instead. I used 8 oz of sour cream instead of 16. Will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
Very good but changed it a tad. I reduced the sour cream by half, and mixed the beaten eggs with the soup and sour cream. I chopped some red/green bell peppers and mixed them into the hashbrowns. Then, I poured the soup/egg mixture over the hashbrowns/peppers until coated. Baked a little longer than called for and the result was great. Served with "Orange Glorious" beverage recipe also found on this site and the combo was wonderful! I think sausage may also be a good addition for next time and call me crazy, but maybe even a DASH of cayenne pepper into the soup mix for some kick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
Good flavor, but the overall consistency was too runny. Next time I will cut the sour cream in half and omit the butter. Also, I used potatoes o'brien (w/onion & peppers) instead of regular hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Made this with 10 eggs, no butter, 8 oz. shredded sharp cheddar and only 8 oz. light sour cream. Added salt, garlic powder, and a little crushed red pepper flakes and baked for 1 hour. Makes a very thick casserole! I cut it into about 12 pieces. My daughter and I (we're the only breakfast casserole people in our house) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYBOR72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Haubstadt, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I thought this turned out excellent. I wasn't sure whether to use shredded hash browns or the country style hash browns, but I went with the country style. It made it very hearty and filling. I cut down on the butter as recommended by others but think it could be eliminated completely -- it never crusted over for me. I'd just sprinkle some extra chesse on top. Next time I probably would also add a couple more eggs to even out the proportion of eggs to potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This was one of the greatest casserole's i've ever made. I made it for my family on Christmas Morning, but i changed it a little. Instead of using ham, i used ground up sausage and some bacon, and it still turned out great. I used a lot more cheese as well. I recomend cookikng the eggs, bacon, and sausage a little before throwing it all together in the oven though. Also, use more eggs than the recipe calls for...otherwise it's out of proportion. casseroles sohuld be bassed on potatoes and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Well, this was a REAL hit with the whole family on Christmas morning. I made 2 9x13 casserole's the night before and just popped them in the oven before we started with the morning. They were both gone in no time! We had fresh fruit and juice to round out the morning. Thank you for the great recipe! The only change I made was to use sausage instead of ham and I used about twice the amount of cheese. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Here's what I did to make this into a FIVE-STAR FAMILY FAVORITE: Substitute ham with 1# Roll Jimmy Dean Hot Pork Sausage brown with Onion and also add small Green Pepper. Layer hashbrowns first. Increase eggs to 8, beat with a little milk, salt & pepper and pour over hashbrowns. Mix Cream of MUSHROOM soup (not chicken soup), with ONLY 8 oz of sour cream also adding a little milk (approx 1/4 cup). Add the browned sausage mixture along with approx 1/2 cup cheese and layer this mixture over Hashbrown and Eggs. Cook 30 minutes. Omit butter entirely but add approx 1/4 cup cheese to top then return to oven for 15 minutes. Let set approx 10 minutes to meld prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverTERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Rocks Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
This recipe was fabulous! This recipe certainly impressed our out of town guests and my husband too! The only change I made was to add another cup of cheese and some garlic powder and also I broiled it at the end to make the top crunchy! It's a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States