Ultimate Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This is a great dish just out of the oven and just as good reheated on busy mornings! I used 1 lb. cooked sausage in place of the ham, added 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese, 6 eggs and substituted cream of mushroom for the cream of chicken soup. I spread the hashbrowns in a 9 x 13 and bake them for 15 minutes while I cooked the sausage. I mixed all the other ingredients together and poured it over the top of the hashbrowns. I stirred it a little to incorporate the mix into the hashbrowns. I dotted the top with butter instead of pouring melted butter over the top. About 10-15 minutes before it was done I sprinkled shredded mild cheddar on half for the kids and shredded pepper jack on the other half for a nice kick. I will definitely make this again... it's a hearty morning breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Valley Center, Kansas, USA
Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
A very good and hearty casserole. Made this with minor changes. I used 6 eggs, about 1-1/2 lbs hash browns (that was plenty), and subbed cream of celery for the cream of chicken. I also used more cheese. I did use the 1/4 cup of butter but I don't think that was totally needed. I'll either cut it out or cut it down by 1/2, at least, next time. This would be really good, also, with chopped broccoli or broccoli florets, lightly steamed first. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I don't usually submit the changes I've made, but this dish turned out great and if I write it down on a piece of paper, I'll never find it again. Most of the changes were because of what I had on hand: I used tater tots, 1 lb. bacon, 6 eggs, 8 oz. sour cream, and cream of mushroom soup. I did use more than 3/4 cup shredded cheese, I'd say about 1/2 a block. I didn't drizzle any butter over the top, but next time might spray the top with Pam before it's done to see if that crisps up the top. It was great without messing with the top. I brought this to a church potluck and it was gone in a flash. I got a little and it was so good, I plan to make it just for my family soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
So awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This was very tastey! I added bacon and a roll of sausage to mine and used 4 eggs instead of 3 because I have some egg lovers. I also used the southern style hash browns for a chunkier texture. I added 2 cups of shredded cheese at the end instead of the butter. There was PLENTY left over and it does reheat well. Next time I might play around with it and add different veggies or meats. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarawolf77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Great recipe! Made it for brunch for my three sisters and we all loved it. I halfed the recipe since there were just four of us and we still had leftovers. Also, based on other reviewers recommendations, I still used three eggs even though I halfed the other ingredients, and it was great. I also added shredded cheddar to the top during the last 15 minutes of baking. More cheese makes everything better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This was the best! We made this as a side dish for a large 4th of July cookout, everyone raved over it. I will definitely fix this again and I've given the recipe to about 10 people from our cookout!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
another good one. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This has become a regular dish in our home! Delicious!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Wada Mann

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This recipe has too much sour cream and butter. The hash browns after an hour were not fully cooked. In my opinion, the recipe is not worth the calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaloss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States