Ukrainian Sweet and Sour Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2000
we, my family, truly enjoyed this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2000
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2000
Wonderful aroma. Tastes good too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2000
I love this delicious soup; I put in 1/4C vinegar (instead of 1/2C) and use golden raisins. Sometimes I put in a slightly spicey sausage, sliced chunks: I boil sausage pieces in soup for a few minutes at the end before serving. Lovely next day...seems that flavors blend more after reheating. Don't skip the celery seed...adds to the unique flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
I've made this soup twice now with great results. Served with fresh-baked bread (try the "Honey Wheat II" recipe on this site) and sour cream, it's a big hit for cold nights. My Ukrainian-born husband raves about it and loves the sweet-sour zing. He's a little picky and usually turns his nose up at my attempts at Ukrainian fare, but this was a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I thought the vinegar taste was over powering....with the tart apples it was just too sour. My husband didn't care for it much either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This cabbage was unbelievably good. It reminds me of the soup my mother used to make, before she stated to control sweetenning in her recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
My Uncle remembered a cabbage soup his immigrant mother made as a child. All he told me was it had rasins and prunes and short ribs in it. I used Holly's rescipe as a base, and I boiled 1 pound of short ribs in 2 quarts water to make the stock, leaving the meat in the pot. I also added 1/3 cup prunes and 2 heaping tablespoons of freash grated ginger to the pot about 30 minutes before serving. Rave reviews from my uncle and my husband! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LissaKatt
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
I added 1 lb. Keilbasa to the soup and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsKilmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiffin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
good recipe....i will cut down on the vinegar and add some cooked beef next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States