Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Made as a side dish for Thanksgiving. I already had all the traditional sides and I was looking for something lighter, with lots of color, with seasonal produce. This hit the mark. I followed suggestion to use the smallest beets you can find and I also used the suggestion to roast the beets and potatoes in the oven. I made a day ahead and thought it was ok. I added a splash of balsamic to try to flavor it up. Tasted the next day and it was excellent! I think you need to make it 1 - 2 days in advance to allow the flavors to blend. Lots of positive feedback from guests. My sister-in-law asked to take home some of the extras. I would not use this as the only side as some people are afraid to try beets (their loss!) , but its a great dish when you are planning to have several side dish choices. It does take lots of prep, but the prep is way in advance, it looks pretty, tastes great, and doesn't need oven space the day of the party. It's too much prep for me to make as jut a regular meal but I will make this again for a party side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Delicious! I used LeSuer canned baby carrots and peas. Everyone loved it, it was fresh, colorful and tasty. It has been requested as a Thanksgiving side! Very good dish. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fritzi Schnitzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
unexpectedly good!! Stuck to the recipe as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
EXCELLENT! and very good for you. I added fresh dill and it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
IMPORTANT NOTE: The cooked vegetables are a perishable food and must be refrigerated. Do not leave them at room temperature overnight. Directions omitted that, which was why I awarded 4 out of 5 stars. Now back to the recipe. This is going on my "next to try" recipe list because there are so many healthy things about it - hurray for the Ukrains! Besides, it's beauty of a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gadgetgal

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This is traditional winter Russian-Ukranian salad. We use canned beans (red or white) instead of peas, and sourkraut is essential. We also make a dressing adding mustard, salt, and pepper to the olive oil and mixing well. You can also bake your beets instead of boiling for more intense beet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was a fabulous change from the typical veggie side dish. My kids wanted beef stroganoff tonight so I made this for me. Let's just say there will be no leftovers for a brown bag lunch tomorrow. I did substitute frozen baby peas for the canned (they are so much prettier and less mushy) and added a few extra Claussen pickle chunks because we are dill pickle freaks! But this recipe deserves five stars without those changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Great Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
one of my favorite winter salads. I omit the peas in favor of cannelini beans and use sourkraut to ad some tang to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Excellent instructions! We, well, my Ukrainian husband usually buys this at the Russian market, and although he would hint at me trying my hand at making it, it seemed way too complicated. This recipe totally demystified things for me, and we both loved the result - not usually the case when he buys it. Will definitely make again, and again, etc. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States