Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Good as is, but we usually omit peas and add sourkraut (russian style, of course). Definitely good and good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I changed this a bit by using canned beets, chopped fresh dill, and refrigerating the salad when the potatoes and carrots were cool. I tasted it before I chilled it and it's so different from most summer salads. Will served it on iceberg lettuce along with corn on the cob and stuffed pork chops. Has all ingredients that husband likes, so is bound to be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I have lots of beets to use up and was looking for a salad that my husband would eat without mayo. I did leave out the olive oil as we're on a fat free diet and I replaced it with a little of the pickle juice and didn't miss the oil at all, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
We had this dish in our home all the time especially in summer. If we had a barbeque with a houseful of guests, we served this dish with herring salat, potatoe salad and a large bowl of tossed salad and at the end of the day nothing was left. Sometimes I had guests ask if they could take home any leftovers. My mother was Ukrainian and dad a German. Yes it takes time to prepare but the results at the end of the day are worth it. My family and I sat at the table cutting up the ingredients, it was also a time for all of us to get together not just during the meal but beforehand. I highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
LOVE THIS!!!! JUST LIKE MAMA'S!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by johannanj
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
A delicious savory salad. Alot ample time for dicing the many vegetables. It is labor-intensive but worth it for the fabulous color. We used Claussen pickles rather than regular dill. We will serve with grilled kielbasa and grilled pierogies tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Excellent instructions! We, well, my Ukrainian husband usually buys this at the Russian market, and although he would hint at me trying my hand at making it, it seemed way too complicated. This recipe totally demystified things for me, and we both loved the result - not usually the case when he buys it. Will definitely make again, and again, etc. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
one of my favorite winter salads. I omit the peas in favor of cannelini beans and use sourkraut to ad some tang to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was a fabulous change from the typical veggie side dish. My kids wanted beef stroganoff tonight so I made this for me. Let's just say there will be no leftovers for a brown bag lunch tomorrow. I did substitute frozen baby peas for the canned (they are so much prettier and less mushy) and added a few extra Claussen pickle chunks because we are dill pickle freaks! But this recipe deserves five stars without those changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
EXCELLENT! and very good for you. I added fresh dill and it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States