Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This is traditional winter Russian-Ukranian salad. We use canned beans (red or white) instead of peas, and sourkraut is essential. We also make a dressing adding mustard, salt, and pepper to the olive oil and mixing well. You can also bake your beets instead of boiling for more intense beet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Excellent instructions! We, well, my Ukrainian husband usually buys this at the Russian market, and although he would hint at me trying my hand at making it, it seemed way too complicated. This recipe totally demystified things for me, and we both loved the result - not usually the case when he buys it. Will definitely make again, and again, etc. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
IMPORTANT NOTE: The cooked vegetables are a perishable food and must be refrigerated. Do not leave them at room temperature overnight. Directions omitted that, which was why I awarded 4 out of 5 stars. Now back to the recipe. This is going on my "next to try" recipe list because there are so many healthy things about it - hurray for the Ukrains! Besides, it's beauty of a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gadgetgal

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Photo by johannanj
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
A delicious savory salad. Alot ample time for dicing the many vegetables. It is labor-intensive but worth it for the fabulous color. We used Claussen pickles rather than regular dill. We will serve with grilled kielbasa and grilled pierogies tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I make this--we have spent time in Russia and the ex-soviet republics (husband's job) and I am amazed at the numbers of reviewers who are concerned with "authenticity," on this and on other similar recipes. This is essentially the Eastern European garden salad that is available year-round. Everything in it can be kept for the bulk of the winter, either pickled or stored in a root cellar, so it is mostly a winter salad. The variations are endless, as are the particulars of the families who make it. I have eaten it with fish, without fish, with and without mayo, with sauerkraut, prunes, etc. The contents depend on what is on hand and whether or not the kids will eat it! Goes well with either vodka or cognac. As long as you have potatoes, beets, carrots and onion, you have the basics for this salad. Dressing is basic pickle juice and oil. Everything else is variable. I sometimes put eggs in mine. In summer--cucumber is good. Have fun with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
one of my favorite winter salads. I omit the peas in favor of cannelini beans and use sourkraut to ad some tang to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
We had this dish in our home all the time especially in summer. If we had a barbeque with a houseful of guests, we served this dish with herring salat, potatoe salad and a large bowl of tossed salad and at the end of the day nothing was left. Sometimes I had guests ask if they could take home any leftovers. My mother was Ukrainian and dad a German. Yes it takes time to prepare but the results at the end of the day are worth it. My family and I sat at the table cutting up the ingredients, it was also a time for all of us to get together not just during the meal but beforehand. I highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was a fabulous change from the typical veggie side dish. My kids wanted beef stroganoff tonight so I made this for me. Let's just say there will be no leftovers for a brown bag lunch tomorrow. I did substitute frozen baby peas for the canned (they are so much prettier and less mushy) and added a few extra Claussen pickle chunks because we are dill pickle freaks! But this recipe deserves five stars without those changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Good as is, but we usually omit peas and add sourkraut (russian style, of course). Definitely good and good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I would just like to offer the customized review on Vinegrete recipe: By the way I am not sure, why it's named Ukranian: we lived in Russia, and this was one of our all-season favorite Vinegret. I use home-made or store-bought sourcraut with sugar and caraway seeds (bavarian style) instead of pickles, sunflower oil, I do not add green peas. It's very good served with herring on the side or some like it inside,and with Prussian Rye or Finnish Rye bread with butter ! And, for sure: it's great for you ! Elaine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States