Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by johannanj
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
A delicious savory salad. Alot ample time for dicing the many vegetables. It is labor-intensive but worth it for the fabulous color. We used Claussen pickles rather than regular dill. We will serve with grilled kielbasa and grilled pierogies tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Good as is, but we usually omit peas and add sourkraut (russian style, of course). Definitely good and good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Excellent instructions! We, well, my Ukrainian husband usually buys this at the Russian market, and although he would hint at me trying my hand at making it, it seemed way too complicated. This recipe totally demystified things for me, and we both loved the result - not usually the case when he buys it. Will definitely make again, and again, etc. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
one of my favorite winter salads. I omit the peas in favor of cannelini beans and use sourkraut to ad some tang to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Kapolei, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Great Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was a fabulous change from the typical veggie side dish. My kids wanted beef stroganoff tonight so I made this for me. Let's just say there will be no leftovers for a brown bag lunch tomorrow. I did substitute frozen baby peas for the canned (they are so much prettier and less mushy) and added a few extra Claussen pickle chunks because we are dill pickle freaks! But this recipe deserves five stars without those changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This is traditional winter Russian-Ukranian salad. We use canned beans (red or white) instead of peas, and sourkraut is essential. We also make a dressing adding mustard, salt, and pepper to the olive oil and mixing well. You can also bake your beets instead of boiling for more intense beet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
IMPORTANT NOTE: The cooked vegetables are a perishable food and must be refrigerated. Do not leave them at room temperature overnight. Directions omitted that, which was why I awarded 4 out of 5 stars. Now back to the recipe. This is going on my "next to try" recipe list because there are so many healthy things about it - hurray for the Ukrains! Besides, it's beauty of a dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gadgetgal

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
EXCELLENT! and very good for you. I added fresh dill and it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
unexpectedly good!! Stuck to the recipe as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States