Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Angie Gossett
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
I love this recipe! I used golden and red beets for a little more color. Tastes so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Gossett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is a great basic recipe. A trick make it prettier - make sure to cook the beets separately and keep them separate when combining the ingredients. They don't need to sit overnight. The salad can be made once the vegies have cooled. Then, combine all ingredients, except beets, with 11/2 tbsp. oil, mix the beets with the other half tbsp. oil, and then add beets to the salad ingredients. This keeps the other vegies nice and bright (and not red!) initially, although by the next day everything is red. I always add sauerkraut and if I use peas, I use frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I make this--we have spent time in Russia and the ex-soviet republics (husband's job) and I am amazed at the numbers of reviewers who are concerned with "authenticity," on this and on other similar recipes. This is essentially the Eastern European garden salad that is available year-round. Everything in it can be kept for the bulk of the winter, either pickled or stored in a root cellar, so it is mostly a winter salad. The variations are endless, as are the particulars of the families who make it. I have eaten it with fish, without fish, with and without mayo, with sauerkraut, prunes, etc. The contents depend on what is on hand and whether or not the kids will eat it! Goes well with either vodka or cognac. As long as you have potatoes, beets, carrots and onion, you have the basics for this salad. Dressing is basic pickle juice and oil. Everything else is variable. I sometimes put eggs in mine. In summer--cucumber is good. Have fun with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Delicious and impossible to mess up. Very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
My neighbor made this recipe and I just happened to stop by and was offered a little plate. It was absolutely delicious! She made it with dill rather than parsley which made me feel a little more "Spring". Making for Easter with roast beef. Would like to know how many servings this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I have lots of beets to use up and was looking for a salad that my husband would eat without mayo. I did leave out the olive oil as we're on a fat free diet and I replaced it with a little of the pickle juice and didn't miss the oil at all, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
LOVE THIS!!!! JUST LIKE MAMA'S!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I changed this a bit by using canned beets, chopped fresh dill, and refrigerating the salad when the potatoes and carrots were cool. I tasted it before I chilled it and it's so different from most summer salads. Will served it on iceberg lettuce along with corn on the cob and stuffed pork chops. Has all ingredients that husband likes, so is bound to be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I would just like to offer the customized review on Vinegrete recipe: By the way I am not sure, why it's named Ukranian: we lived in Russia, and this was one of our all-season favorite Vinegret. I use home-made or store-bought sourcraut with sugar and caraway seeds (bavarian style) instead of pickles, sunflower oil, I do not add green peas. It's very good served with herring on the side or some like it inside,and with Prussian Rye or Finnish Rye bread with butter ! And, for sure: it's great for you ! Elaine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
We had this dish in our home all the time especially in summer. If we had a barbeque with a houseful of guests, we served this dish with herring salat, potatoe salad and a large bowl of tossed salad and at the end of the day nothing was left. Sometimes I had guests ask if they could take home any leftovers. My mother was Ukrainian and dad a German. Yes it takes time to prepare but the results at the end of the day are worth it. My family and I sat at the table cutting up the ingredients, it was also a time for all of us to get together not just during the meal but beforehand. I highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States