Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Delicious and impossible to mess up. Very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
My neighbor made this recipe and I just happened to stop by and was offered a little plate. It was absolutely delicious! She made it with dill rather than parsley which made me feel a little more "Spring". Making for Easter with roast beef. Would like to know how many servings this recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I have lots of beets to use up and was looking for a salad that my husband would eat without mayo. I did leave out the olive oil as we're on a fat free diet and I replaced it with a little of the pickle juice and didn't miss the oil at all, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
LOVE THIS!!!! JUST LIKE MAMA'S!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I changed this a bit by using canned beets, chopped fresh dill, and refrigerating the salad when the potatoes and carrots were cool. I tasted it before I chilled it and it's so different from most summer salads. Will served it on iceberg lettuce along with corn on the cob and stuffed pork chops. Has all ingredients that husband likes, so is bound to be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I would just like to offer the customized review on Vinegrete recipe: By the way I am not sure, why it's named Ukranian: we lived in Russia, and this was one of our all-season favorite Vinegret. I use home-made or store-bought sourcraut with sugar and caraway seeds (bavarian style) instead of pickles, sunflower oil, I do not add green peas. It's very good served with herring on the side or some like it inside,and with Prussian Rye or Finnish Rye bread with butter ! And, for sure: it's great for you ! Elaine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
We had this dish in our home all the time especially in summer. If we had a barbeque with a houseful of guests, we served this dish with herring salat, potatoe salad and a large bowl of tossed salad and at the end of the day nothing was left. Sometimes I had guests ask if they could take home any leftovers. My mother was Ukrainian and dad a German. Yes it takes time to prepare but the results at the end of the day are worth it. My family and I sat at the table cutting up the ingredients, it was also a time for all of us to get together not just during the meal but beforehand. I highly recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Made as a side dish for Thanksgiving. I already had all the traditional sides and I was looking for something lighter, with lots of color, with seasonal produce. This hit the mark. I followed suggestion to use the smallest beets you can find and I also used the suggestion to roast the beets and potatoes in the oven. I made a day ahead and thought it was ok. I added a splash of balsamic to try to flavor it up. Tasted the next day and it was excellent! I think you need to make it 1 - 2 days in advance to allow the flavors to blend. Lots of positive feedback from guests. My sister-in-law asked to take home some of the extras. I would not use this as the only side as some people are afraid to try beets (their loss!) , but its a great dish when you are planning to have several side dish choices. It does take lots of prep, but the prep is way in advance, it looks pretty, tastes great, and doesn't need oven space the day of the party. It's too much prep for me to make as jut a regular meal but I will make this again for a party side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Delicious! I used LeSuer canned baby carrots and peas. Everyone loved it, it was fresh, colorful and tasty. It has been requested as a Thanksgiving side! Very good dish. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fritzi Schnitzer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
unexpectedly good!! Stuck to the recipe as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Arugula and Beet Salad

Learn how to put a contemporary twist on the traditional Waldorf salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States