Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
So good. I followed the recipe as is and it was everything I hoped it would be. I'm not a borscht expert...just had it once before and loved it. I loved this just as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I loved this recipe and gave it too friends who also raved about it. I had lots of produce from my CSA that I needed to use. The only thing I had to buy to complete this was the sausage. A great way to use all of the produce I had on hand. I'm making it again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I tried to follow the recipe closely, with the exception of using pork back ribs, which I cooked first then took off the bones and added to the soup. I also gently cooked the beets, skin on, before peeling and shredding and I used the deep red cooking water as the base for the broth. I added about two tablespoons of red wine vinegar as well, which I think is essential. Otherwise followed the recipe. It was good the first day, even better the next. My kids loved it! I will use this recipe again. Might try using beef shank and beef broth next time. Great recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This reminded me off my grandmother's borscht. Since I no longer eat meat, I used vegetable broth instead of half the water, and omitted the meat. I didn't think my grandmother used garlic in her recipe, so I omitted that as well. I also added a generous handful of fresh, chopped dill at the end and left out the parsley. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
DELICIOUS! I doubled this recipe because I had lots of veggies on hand (thank god I used my huge stock pot). I omitted the sausage, used red cabbage (that's what I had in the fridge), and added 2 packages of chicken stock (the concentrated kind that's sort of a jelly texture). Served it with sour cream and fresh dill on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
The amount of tomato paste and carrots obliterates the beets, and its not especially appetizing in its overall look. Complete bait and switch and waste of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I didn't add the pork but did pretty much everything else the same. Quite good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimée Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This dish looks beautiful and is delicious. The only ingredient I omitted was the sugar, because we have a diabetic in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Had borscht once and I loved it... but then had it at a polish restaurant and hated it! It made me realize there are MANY ways to make borscht and it's very possible your going to like one and not the other. I loved this one because it had pork in it and the earthy beet flavor was not overpowering. The polish borscht i had was very overpowering with beet flavor and i realized that's what i dont' like-- and also why many people probably don't like Borscht. This one, however, was great! I used 2 large hot Italian sausage links out of the casing. Next time I will put 1 more link in there. Not too greasy with the pork... After i dumped the pork in the water, some oil accumulated at the top and i just skimmed it out. For the cabbage, i got pre-shredded coleslaw mix. Other than that, followed the recipe exactly swapping out dill for parsley. It was great! I did try one of the other recommendations of adding a bit of balsamic vinegar at the end - and that was a nice touch. I may also try to add a chicken bullion cube to the water just to see what happens. Otherwise great recipe and I recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Made this soup many times after watching my Mother make it for years. She used to cook a piece of beef brisket for the stock first, but I choose to make mine meatless. She never added sugar, but did add lemon juice at the end for a tang. There used to be something called sour salt, but I haven't seen it in years to buy. Fresh dill and of course the sour cream was the final touch. Dad liked his potatoes cooked separately then added to the soup just before serving. Everyone has their own likes. I did cook my beets with the skin on first, then used the lovely red liquid for the stock. The skins slips off after simmering for an hour, then dice the beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Scriver
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States