Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This was delicious! It brought me right back to when I was in Ukraine. I didn't add any sugar, but everything else I kept right with the recipe. I will definitely be recommending this to my family. On a side note, toasted and buttered sourdough bread has always been my favorite "side dish" for this soup: so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Autumn Zukewycz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This is the first time I've ever tried Borscht soup. I made the recipe as is except I didn't use the tomato paste because I read the other reviews. I also chopped a big handful of fresh dill. The soup was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Laroche

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Apple Cider Vinegar is the secret to the perfect borsht seasoning. Try some in your bowl before you add it to the whole batch, the difference is amazing! Otherwise a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Super yummy! Baby loved it: blend it up or strain and give the soup juice in a cup with the veggies shreds on his tray. I didn't use meat, but used 1 t beef bullion. No sugar or tomato anything, except a squirt or two of ketchup (which is key). No garlic or garnishings needed either. Served withwarm crusty artisan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Delicious. I made mine with freshly roasted beets which makes a huge difference in deepening the beet flavor. Another thing I did, because I was in a hurry when I made the soup, is that I added a jar of Sweet and Sour Red Cabbage. Absolutely delicious. I am Eastern European.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
SO good & always gets rave reviews. Even better the next day. I tried using turkey sausage, but it was tasteless. Used canned beets because it was easier, used nappa cabbage because it's sweeter. Other than that, made it as written, and it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I thought this was delish! I ate the left overs for more than a week at work. Just added a dollop o f sour cream and was good to go. Usually I add things or remove things here or there, this one however I did not as I have never tried to make Borscht before. I did use the pork sausage, but my Ukrainian student whom I showed the recipe to said it was very strange for there to be pork sausage. She suggested beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This was very good. Next time I would add more beets as it was a little watery. I ended up tossing in a couple of beef bouillon cubes at the last minute to make up for the watery problem. That worked nicely. We really enjoyed the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Wonderful recipe. I had Borsht at a Russian restaurant and loved it there. This was a lot of work, though, especially shredding the beets - maybe there is an easier way. I made the vegetarian version, and added some salt and spices to make up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I didn't add anything, leave anything out, substitute anything or change any of the instructions. Can I still write a review? I also have never had borscht before, so I have not the vaguest idea what it should taste like...but this tastes great! My guest tonight agreed and took some home to "share with her friends", and she took at least 4 large servings, so I think she may really do that! Anyway, Patti, thanks so much for this super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States