Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Wonderful recipe. I had Borsht at a Russian restaurant and loved it there. This was a lot of work, though, especially shredding the beets - maybe there is an easier way. I made the vegetarian version, and added some salt and spices to make up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I didn't add anything, leave anything out, substitute anything or change any of the instructions. Can I still write a review? I also have never had borscht before, so I have not the vaguest idea what it should taste like...but this tastes great! My guest tonight agreed and took some home to "share with her friends", and she took at least 4 large servings, so I think she may really do that! Anyway, Patti, thanks so much for this super recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
My grandma, who has an aversion towards beets, loved this. I also added lots of dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Bolling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I ate borscht at a Ukrainian restaurant in NYC and loved it! Finally got around to trying it myself. After reading some of the reviews, I opted for vegetarian borscht. I left out the tomato paste entirely and just added a whole can of the diced tomatoes. I used 4 beets, shredded 2 of them and cut 2 of them in thin sticks. I added 1 quart of beef broth instead of water, some red wine and also lemon concentrate at the end because I felt it had to be tangier (I really like marinated baby beets). The dill is really working wonders for this soup, I used lots of it. All in all, an easy recipe to follow and I love how it came out. I think next time I may try to add one jar of the marinated beets and see how that works out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Wow, really impressive. that was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Loved this! Did not add meat. I baked the beets rather than boil them, then peeled them prior to putting in the pot. I added a little veggie broth for flavoring. It is so yummy! Will definitely make this again. Probably will try putting cabbage and carrots in the food processor as hand grating was messy and time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I have done an amazing, traditional, non-meat borscht before and I found this one lacking in flavour, to be honest. I had to add quite a bit to it: chicken stock, lots of dill, lots of S&P. Wish I could find my old recipe, actuallly! The beet taste was subdued at best. But a nice, very basic "base," in my humble opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I like this though I found it a bit bland, BUT I had to sub some of the sausage with hamburger so may have lost some taste. It needed salt! it's my first time making it though and I don't have anything to compare it to. Didn't have sour cream, either. By the way I used frozen cooked beets from the summer, just thawed them and diced them and added after the other veg were cooked. Seemed to work well. I think I would use stock instead of water to try to round out the flavor. It did make a LOT! I have about 3L in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I added lots of dill. Aside from that this is a fantastic recipe. It's good for you, it's cooked in under an hour, freezes and reheats well, and tastes great. Cook it! Eat it! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I didn't find this recipe to stand out much. The flavor is just okay. I added more salt, balsamic vinegar, and thyme to try to add some flavor, and it was good, but probably not something I'll make again... unless I just have to use up some beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren & Joel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States