Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
i made this vegetarian with less water and pureed 1/2 of the beet/carrot/potato mixture. made a less authentic but delicious thick stew -- my new favorite borscht recipe! used lots of dill and a couple tsp of apple cider vinegar instead of sugar and garlic. no tomatoes because i didn't have any. yuuuuuuum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
More tomatoey than beety, but still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Great recipe! My monthly co-op farm produce box included three organic beets and a bunch of organic carrots. Borscht was the first thing I thought of. I found this recipe and was delighted. A couple of changes: No sausage - really not necessary. I also substituted a box of TJ's vegetable broth for the water and left out the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Great soup! I put a lot of veggies in here - I think that it's a great base for just about any veggies. I put greek yogurt on top instead of sour cream - delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
The best Borscht ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I'd never tasted borscht before making this. I don't know if it's authentic or not, but it is absolutely delicious! I wish I'd discovered this recipe years ago. I didn't have bulk sausage on hand, so I diced Polish sausage, browned it slightly, and then followed the recipe exactly. I froze the leftovers and they're equally good. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Patti. I'll be making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I love this dish.. I like my food spicy so I add 2 jalapeños cut in half for flavor and cilantro finely chopped.. Then I love to add fresh lemon juice just as its ready to be served.. Yumm..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
We pulled out the winter garden today so beets, cabbage and carrots went from the garden into the pot. It is the kind of thick soup we love. BUT, as organized as I am, the prep took 35 minutes. I made it exactly as instructed but left out the sugar and garlic. the garlic would be lost, so don't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I have spent many weeks in Ukraine this year. I used this recipe during the Holidays this year and found to be as close the what I had eaten in Ukraine. If you use fresh veggies then Prep time is not 15 minutes, about 30 minutes. I want to experiment with the meat. next time I want to use pork from the ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Delicious and such a great way to use that cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Torval Thronberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States