Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My grandma was a native of the Ukraine, and this is the borscht that she made, minus the sugar and parsley. I suppose it's like anywhere else in the world where there are differing versions of the same dish according to the region and the chef. It was plenty close though, so this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinderelly007

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was my first try at borscht and my whole family loved it! I roasted the beets in the oven in foil with olive oil, salt, pepper, and thyme. Then I skinned them and grated them. Then i used 8 cups of beef stock and used dill instead of parsley. I used a jar of red pickled cabbage instead of fresh. No need to add sugar. Plenty of flavor! Will definitely make it again! update... have made this for many native Russians now and they all love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desiree Marshall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Fantastic! I assumed that the beets would need to be cooked and peeled before I started and did so before reading the recipe. It was way easier to peel this way I think and worked fine when I added them with the potatoes and carrots. I forgot the sugar and I don't think it was needed and I doubled the garlic which I think was awesome! I also didn't shred anything...just chopped. Will surely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Excellent! I've made this vegan once and once with pork sausage and I absolutely prefer VEGAN. Great use of fall/winter vegetables. Substituted vegetable broth/bouillon for the water for extra flavor and next time will throw in a couple more potatoes. Huge hit with the boyfriend and his fam :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Good and healthy soup. I did it without sausage. Next time I will add some spices to give more taste. I also shredded the vegetable too much. Next time I will just cut them in chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Very good soup! Than goodness for a food processor! I followed some of the other reviews and added the chicken bouillon and only half the tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This soup is FANTASTIC. I too left out the sausage - I also added almost a liter of veggie stock in addition to the water called for. After my husband and I ate some in its rustic, chunky state, I decided to blend up the left overs. That's how you take something rustic and make it chic! It has an amazing smell and texture and is completely addictive as a smooth soup! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Honestly, there is no such thing as one authentic recipe...it's like indian curry, or any other national dish - you have regional variations, different recipes from family to family, and it changes seasonally to use what is to hand. It must have beets, and must have dill, is about the only rule. We liked this, as we have liked all borscht recipes, you just have to leave out what you don't like, and adjust the rest to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I had never made borscht before so I followed this recipe almost exactly as written and it was delicious! Definitely involves a lot of chopping, slicing and peeling but it was well worth it and generally a pretty easy recipe. Will definitely make again! For those interested, here are the very minor changes I made: didn't use the sausage or any meat for that matter (still delicious and very filling); added a little more water than it called for, probably close to 1.5 cups by the end; added some salt and pepper while it was simmering before the onions and tomato paste went in; I mashed the vegetables slightly at the end to thicken it/break down some of the vegetables because I prefer a thicker soup overall rather than a thin broth with chunks of vegetable. I think this recipe would probably be just as good without these changes, they were just a matter of personal taste/habit for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Well, I'm Ukrainian myself and wanted to add some suggestions to the recipe. (since it's Ukrainian dish after all, it's probably different from Russian version). Anyway, we never add any tomato paste or diced tomatoes, or sugar. It's good just with beets, cabbage, potatoes, and meat. Also I usually cook my beets, then shred. Also, for meat - you can use any kind of pork meat, don't have to have pork sausage. Also, add cabbage at the very end (make sure you "soften" it by "scrunching" up cabbage in your hands. I hope it helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panyanka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States