Ukrainian Olha's Varenyky (Perogies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This turned out really well! I have eaten authentic perogie before and this turned out just as good! The dough was pretty tough to roll out, though. Next time I plan to add a bit more water and see if that helps. It took me about 2.5 hrs to prepare everything and then to cook 20 of them to eat. So, you might want to add a bit more time if you are scheduling to cook this. I also had quite a bit of filling left over...not sure why, but that is ok. I'm just freezing it and will use it next time. Update: I made my second batch and used 1 1/2 cups of the evaporated milk (instead of just one), and then I added 1/2 cup water. This really helped the dough be much easier to work! Tip: When rolling out the dough, flip the dough over quite often and roll out again (maybe 5-6 times) for each part you roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
This was a good recipe. I used saurkraut and a can of corned beef and potatoes with some cheddar cheese for the filling. It was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fayc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Some people might not know you have to peel the potato's before you cube and boil them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Lovelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Love this recipe it makes the best perogies. The dough is tough to role out but I just cut into squares the run though a pasta machine on the thickest setting. with out the pasta maker it would be tough but not impossible. I also usually use more water than what it calls for it makes the dough easier to stick together when making the Perigees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
The dough turned out to be too tough and difficult to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These were really amazing. I love the option to customize the filling. They were the best perogies ever. They did take a while to make, I boiled the potatoes and made the dough the day before, then to assemble it still took me 2 hours to make a half batch of the recipe. Since my husband likes everything hot & spicy, after using half the filling/dough to make the regular recipe for the kids, I added a few healthy glugs of hot sauce to the filling for the remaining half of the batch. They were utterly amazing. Even the half batch meant I have a whole other meal in the freezer for another day. (that will be much less time consuming!) OH and yes I did fry them in butter/olive oil after boiling them. Serve w/sour cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
yummy,,that's all I have to say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
My roommate my first year in college was from a polish family, and her mom made me the first perogies id ever had. This recipe is very good, though it takes a bit of finesse and practice to put the filing in the dumplings the way her mom told me it was supposed to be done. i used mashed potatoes, and i put half bacon fat half butter in the skillet when i sauted them for a bit of extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Excellent, I love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Uniontown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I made these for an extra credit assignment for my Ukrainian Culture class. They were definitely unlike anything I've ever eaten before. Tasty little things with the alternate filling... dough was hard to work with. I would also recommend frying them up at the end as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by u62philo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mercer, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States