Ukrainian Meat Filled Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This recipe is fabulous! I did make a few changes, though. Instead of the ground pork, I used 1lb ground turkey. The grocery store didn't have any pork, go figure. I also added a tablespoon of minced garlic to the groung meat mixture & 3/4 cup of Italian bread crumbs. It turned out perfect. The rolls were very moist & extremely flavorful. The sauce was a bit thin, but yummy none the less. My husband was a bit apprehensive about trying them, but raved when he tasted them. The procces is time consuming, but worth it. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
These were great! I grew up in an Ethnic area of upstate and NY and this taste is authentic! These disappeared in no time - so I'll probably double it in the future. They were a little salty - so I'll cut the salt back too. My picky son doesn't like sour cream - and they were great without the sauce... They didn't need it. I really enjoyed these, thanks for the taste of "home food" Olga!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
I hardly ever cook something this complicated(long), but this is one of the best entres I have ever tasted. It made me popular with my co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I've been making this recipe for monthes now, every single person that has tried it, has loved it. including 7 & 10 year olds! The only substitutions I have used have been due to necessity, ground turkey works, and best of all is hot ground pork. yummy. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I cut back on the salt, substituted garlic salt for plain salt and was liberal with the black pepper. The savoy cabbage was awesome to work with, much easier than ordinary cabbage. To make the rolls even, pull off all the leaves, then arrange them so one small leaf is nested inside a larger leaf, and use a small cookie/ice cream scoop to portion the meat. Wrap tightly like mini burritos. I couldn't decide between broth or tomato juice, so I mixed a small can of tomato paste into the broth and loved that flavorful variation, although it was still a bit soupy, so next time I will cut back on the broth. I didn't make the sour cream reduction sauce. Instead, I offered up a bowl of homemade yogurt and chopped chives or dill for the guests to spoon onto their own plates. My "meat-and-potatoes-only" guy ate seconds and thirds. I liked the light, fresh texture of the pork, without all the usual rice filler. Thanks so much for this recipe. I will be making this on many a cold winter night to come...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I've made this 4 or 5 times now and each time it has been wonderful. The sour cream sauce is really good, once I used dry dill and it worked ok, but not as good as fresh. Use savoy cabbage though, regular cabbage is harder to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Consider frying the onions in bacon grease for additional flavor. If you cut the cabbage leaves off the core and boil them in 1 gallon water / 1 cup white vinegar, they become flexible yet strong enough to handle. Boiling them already removed from the head makes is easier than trying to separate them from the head while it rests in boiling water. The vinegar toughens them a bit for handling, and adds a nice flavor. Savoy cabbage is awfully delicate for rolling - I prefer plain white cabbage. I don't think garlic or tomato in any form belongs in this recipe for it to be authentic. Thanks for a very interesting post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I ground my own pork using pork loin. This is the best stuffed cabbage I have ever had! Restaurant quality!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Yummy! I made it exactly the way it was written. Very good. Maybe next time I will try italian sausage. But it was great with just ground pork. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States