Ukrainian Meat Filled Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I changed the recipe slightly and sauted garlic and mushrooms with the onions, and I used ground beef versus pork. I also added some condensed cream of mushroom soup to the broth (about 2/3 a cap). I also added two tablespoons butter and a quarter cup of half and half to the sour cream topping. It came out AMAZING. But my props are to the original recipe--I had mushrooms I had to use so this is the only reason I changed the recipe. The meat filling was succulent---this recipes so tops the tomato-based versions in my opinion. P.S. this was my FIRST time with stuffed cabbage rolls. It's easy (albeit time consuming) and a recipe I plan to use for many years, thanks for sharing it, it's a treasure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MULTIFARIOUS5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Good, everyone liked it. I might try itin the slow cooker if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
So delicious! Exactly as I remember for special occasions growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I loved this! I made a few changes though. Used 1.5 lbs ground beef instead of pork and beef broth instead of chicken stock. AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
These are awesome and it made a LOT ! I used a purple cabbage from our garden. The family loved it. Much better then the tomatoe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Really good. Might be good with rice added to the meat mixture too. I just mixed the broth and sour cream together after it came out of the oven and poured it back over the rolls instead of doing that part on the stove. Have made a couple of times, will become a winter staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
i remember growing up with my Ukrainian grandma and aunts making cabbage rolls similar to these but using rice and a mixture of ground beef and ground veal and a little salt pork grease. Grandma would fry up bits of salt pork very crispy and sprinkle the bits and the grease rendered over the cabbage rolls, cover them with raw cabbage leaves and bake for about 1 hr then remove the leaves and brown..oh so yummy...ahhh what a memory!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I am so surprised at how tasty these are!! I'm a traditional rice and tomato sauce cabbage roll eater--but I made these for our Sunday meal and they were fantastic!!! The sauce is surprisingly flavorful (though i let it get too hot and it was runny) the fresh dill is a must!! thanks for such a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Delicious! I followed previous advice and boiled the cabbage with a cup of vinegar in the water. Couldn't find savoy cabbage, so used regular - would advise using the outer leaves for the lining the bottom and covering the top and the smaller, more tender leaves for the rolls themselves. I also added garlic to the onions when I cooked them. This dish is definitely going into the normal rotation. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Not really good or really bad, just okay. It seemed like more work than the typical cabbage rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States