Ukrainian Meat Filled Cabbage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
The inside was tasty but my cabbage was tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This came out great! I made one modification: I added about a quarter pound of sweet Italian sausage to the pork. I also added the dill to the sauce instead of sprinkling on top. I like these better than the traditional tomato sauce ones. I served with mashed garlic cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This recipe is fabulous!! For my taste, I will use less pepper when I make it again. Also, it is quite easy to make a reduction of the sauce, if you'd like it a little thicker. This was my first time making cabbage rolls, and they were just lovely. I served them with homemade noodles as suggested and my husband, kiddo, and even parents were all thrilled. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Everyone in my family from youngest to oldest LOVES these rolls. The only think I change is the meat being that we don't eat ground beef. I use ground turkey, which goes great with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I did everything as written except I halved the salt and pepper. I also added 3 tbs of flour to the sauce. This was really flavorful, but a bit salty even cut in half. I would definitely not put the full amount of salt in there. Otherwise, very good recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Loved the creamy sauce vs. the usual tomato variety. The filling was a switch from the rice we normally see too. Very flavorful. My family said it was definitely a "keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Contented Home-maker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Heltonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
These were really good. Made them with our organic savoy cabbage from our garden. The sauce was too thin, even with 4 tablespoons of flour and some cornstarch. Next time I'll reduce it in a double-boiler (otherwise it will burn). Dill is great. Winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe! I have been looking for a recipe that had no tomato sauce and this is it. I did add 1 cup of par boiled rice to the mixture and some nutmeg as well. I used more flour, about three TBS and the sauce was perfect. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This was my first ever attempt at cabbage rolls so I followed the recipe exactly and they were a big hit. Being my first time, I didn't realize how much the leaves on top would shrink so I'll overlap more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoodiemama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I turned this into a vegetarian dish by substituting fake meat crumbles for the ground pork and veggie broth for the chicken stock. It worked pretty friggin' good! I'd reduce the pepper a bit, and reduce the salt by a little bit more. (I think that's only cause of the veggie crumbles; not a meat-ful problem.) I did use vinegar in the boiling water. I used savoy cabbage and cored it but did not cut the leaves off. They weren't hard to get off at all. I did boil them longer than instructions, and found them surprisingly easy to roll and have stay put. Not too sure if the cooking time had anything to do with that or not, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magpie81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Cabbage Rolls II

See how to make beefy, saucy cabbage rolls in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States