Ukrainian Dill and Garlic Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
An authentic recipe., super easy since fermenting is alot easier than pickling methods. These are actually lacto-fermented , a process used for thousands of years.(sauerkraut, kimchi deli pickles are lacto fermented) Any "bad"bacteria gets destroyed and the good lacto bacillus takes over and safely preserves food . Google "lacto fermentation" I made a few jars of these a few weeks ago, (after 6 days I taste tested one , were excellent , then I moved jars to the fridge . I did think they were a little too garlicky, but still the best I've had.) I made 36 quarts yesterday, I added dill flowers , dill sprigs, garlic ( I only used half the garlic called for this time), a thin ring of hot red pepper, five peppercorns in each jar. I lined the jar with a small Concord grape leave , as this makes the pickles crisp , like alum would. Oak leaves work too. I would have added a slice of horseradish root instead of hot pepper but my market had none this week. If you can find dill flower heads ( easier in spring, and they dry easily) they are so pretty in the jar , but you'll still need dill spigs for taste . Again, this is a fermentation process, so be patient ! You may be tempted, to add vinegar to this brine. DONT ! It alters fermentation , allows for bad bacteria to grow, and you could ruin everything !! So NO VINEGAR. Be patient. If you want a quicker pickle, use a vinegar pickling process. Very different . RENEMBER these will not taste like pickles for several d
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
These were a little salty for my taste. I used a little less salt, didn't pour hot brine over them but let it cool first, added a Tbsp vinegar, and stored them at about 60 degrees so that they didn't get moldy. This worked better and after three days I had some nice half sour pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made several jars of these pickles this summer while I was canning pickles with our traditional Recipe. I threw our old one out. These are the best tasting home-canned pickles I have ever eaten. Used dill paste instead of the Sprigs and added chopped Garlic for the cloves--They turned out wonderful! the best mix of vinegar, salt and water I have found yet! Thank You for sharing, will be adding to my summertime canning routine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtgraham2

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
these are a nice flavor and change I did these with zucchini they turned out fabulous but have also did them with cucumbers also fabulous. thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Mine are on day six of fermenting and they taste way too salty so I am going to follow the suggestions for fixing them. My garlic pieces have turned bright green, is that normal? Are they absorbing the cucumber colors? I made these from my garden pickles and jalapeno peppers for the spice. I'm going to leave them until Sunday then I'll come back and comment on the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathyvzw

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
These are not technically pickled, they are fermented. I am American but have lived in Poland for 11 years and this is how they do their "malo solne" which means low salt cukes. They are fantastic for digestion as they crate a bacteria that aids in proper digestion. But the above water to salt ratio seems high to me so I can see why some say it is too salty, they should not be too salty. Here we do 1 liter of water to 1 tablespoon of salt. We also put in the large dill flower, sliced of horseradish (if you like them a bit spicier) slice of garlic, peppercorns and various leaves from the following plants or trees: horseradish, tart cherry, black currant or oak. Also you don't have to put the brine over when it is hot. You only do that if you are trying to speed up the process but I find they stay crispier if you let the brine cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
This is the recipe I grew up with, too. They never made it to the fridge, though!! Now when I refrigerate them, I dilute the brine by half with cooled, boiled water. When I tried refrigerating with the original brine, the pickles were too strong, and got soft after a while. This method preserves the flavor and the pickles. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daria Glawacky Piro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I made a couple dozen jars using this recipe last summer and I just finished the last jar. Gave away several and have had several requests for more. Its a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChadRo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Delicious! We had a bumper crop of cukes this year so I was handing out jars of pickles to whoever came to visit. Remember, these have to be kept in the refrigerator after you jar them and I was running out of room. Everyone loved them. The first batch I made just like the recipe said and we had a few people tell us "too much garlic" I love garlic but I had to agree with them. The second batch I cut the garlic in half, much better. This is definitely a keeper. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIEEATER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Freeland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
These tasted just like my Ukrainian mother in law used to make. My husband said it brought back family memories. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Maksymiw

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States