Ukrainian Chicken Kiev Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I made this yesterday for my mom, dad and hubby. Hubby was hesitant at first as he doesn't like boneless skinless breast at all. Well he actually loved it. He said it was the first breast he ate that was moist and full of flavor. I was happy that it fried to a beautiful color in the time stated on the recipie. It was quite a challenge to get them rolled up tight and secure, then floured, dipped and breaded again. More work than I anticipated, BUT well worth it. I did use the suggestion from another review in that after I completed the the rolls, I put them in the freezer for 1/2 an hr. and then in the fridge for 2 more hours before I cooked them. I didn't use any toothpicks and to my surprise they stayed together beautifully. When I went to cut my mom's (she had a stroke and can't cut her own food) well OMG the butter squirted out and she was look om my that is so beautiful and juicy. This well be a spacial occasion dish because of the work involved, BUT thank-you for sharing, Brenda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Carrabelle, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
My family decided to make this dish for mother's day, it was exactly what we were looking for. We added green onions into the butter mix to better suit our palette. We had a lot of trouble folding in the edges of the chicken (even after repeated attempts at further flattening the chicken). I would recommend making a pocket in the chicken to stuff the butter in, rather than the sizable amount of toothpicks we had to use to keep the chicken rolled up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was pretty good, but there was a lack of seasoning (salt) which I thought could be overlooked but very noticeable when eating it. Agree with reviewers that making a slit in the chicken would be easier than pounding, but the chicken held together well in the pan when rolled and skewered. All the flavored butter oozed out; maybe this would not happen if the breasts were slit and not pounded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
OK, but nothing special. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This was very good, very light flavor. I used Panko bread crumbs and baked instead of deep frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by combatbootmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
good recipe, I'm not that good of a chef and I was able to pull it off (barely lol), but the guys liked it! absolutely make sure its cooked alll the way into the middle before serving though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
My family absolutely loved this and for sure will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
awesome, made some changes so it has a little less fat and doesn't require you to stand by the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This recipe suffers from a total lack of salt (unless you use salted butter). I use unsalted butter, so I added 1/4 tsp. salt to the butter and also the flour. I oven-baked mine and mine came out looking very sad & anemic but I think that's because I forgot the golden rule of flour-eggs-bread and went eggs-flour-bread (so as you can imagine the bread crumbs didn't stick and I think this is ultimately why it didn't brown.) My chickens were done in 20 minutes at 400 degrees. P.S. Do not use Italian bread crumbs in this recipe; I guarantee you won't like how it tastes with dill. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
So delicious! Changed the dried dill with fresh dill. Used panko instead of bread crumbs. And on cooking, I fry on a cast iron pan for 5 mins each side. Then put it in the oven for 20 mins to cook all the way thru. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Kiev

A classic and impressive chicken dish with a secret surprise inside.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States