Ukrainian Apple Cake (Yabluchnyk) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Thank you for sharing this. A dear old Ukrainian friend, now departed, made this type cake using fuits as they came from trees plums peaars etc. It is delicious on hot summer evening with some ice cream, cream or just as is. Very simple yet delicious result and a nice summer dessert when you dont feel like being in kitchen all day. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catrin
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Yummy! One of the best apple cake recipes I've ever tried. It's wonderful if you serve the cake with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catrin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
Great recipe. I used fresh ( a little sour)plumbs and doubled the streusel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This recipe is great just the way it is!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Everyone I had baked it for at a luncheon thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I made this today and ABSOLUTELY loved it!! It was delicious with a cup of coffee. The grocery store ran out of both brown sugar & butter, so I used margarine and 1/3 cup white sugar instead, and it still turned out super! I also baked for 30 minutes at 375F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I recently made this for a Ukranian Christmas party I was invited too, and it was a big hit! I used mostly all purpose flour with some whole wheat and milk instead of cream, and it worked really well! I was so scared because when everthing was mixed the batter seemed really wet, but it baked thru really well. Thanks so much Olga!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
Yum! This was extremely easy and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luray, Virginia, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
My husband and I loved it. The kids were less enthusiastic but they did like it. It heated up extremely well and the crust flavor with the cinnamon flavor was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I used half & half cream, it came out pretty good, but the crunchiness of the brown sugar crumble on top, was a little too much. Otherwise, it was very moist and delish. Maybe next time, I would add some flavor extract into the cake batter to give it extra flavor, like vanilla or almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States