Ukrainian Apple Cake (Yabluchnyk) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Yes!! Delicious! This recipe is very similar to a German apple cake my mom used to make when I was a kid. Only this one is better because of the streusel topping. I didn't change a thing other than using rice milk and a blob of sour cream instead of the cream (whey allergy). Talk about easy! I love recipes that can be mixed up quickly, tossed in the oven and ready in less than an hour. I did have to bake it for an extra 15 mins but I think my oven is a bit off. I used Jonamac apples and they came out tart and juicy and did not get mushy at all. I'd love to try different types of apples such as Granny Smith, Cortland or Honeycrisp. Next time I might make a double layer of apples just because I love apple desserts so why not pack as many apples in there as possible? The cake part is not very sweet but I love that because the topping and apples balance out the sweetness. Some fruit desserts are too sugary and sticky but this one is perfect. Clean, simple flavor that will surely be a dessert I will make again and again. I'd love to try pears or peaches next time. You must make this cake, you will love it!!! Thank-you so much for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I just made this last night for my family and it was a big hit. The flavor was great and my kids loved it with a little milk poured over the top. Follow directions exactly expect double the recipe. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This cake was delicious! I keep buying apples in bags since it's a better value...but as a single person I can't always eat them fast enough before they start going soft. I used five apples from the last of a getting-soft bag...and it was great. I used a 9" glass pie dish, and doubled the amount of strudel as many people suggested. Aside from a little juice dribbling over the edge (too shallow), it came out perfect. I ate one slice with whipped cream while it was still hot...and immediately knew that this cake needed to be shared while it was still hot! So I bundled it up and raced down to the fire station where I work to share with the guys. They loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This is absolutely wonderful apple cake. My husband and kids loved it. I made the recipe exactly as written. The only thing I did differently was baked it in a springform pan. Next time I think I will try a layer of caramel between the cake layer and apple layer. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
AMAZING! The only adjustment I made was to use sugar cinnamon instead of cinnamon, and I made twice as much crumble for the top. I only had two apples on hand, but it was still great and a sure-fire hit with the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kpenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Oh YUM! Really lovely- the bottom cake layer reminded me of a sugar donut, and the top was really delicious. I made it in an 8" x 8" pan and had to bake it an extra 15 minutes because it was thicker, but it worked perfectly. Thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I had lots of apples to use and wanted something different from a regular pie. This recipe was very easy...I doubled the recipe and baked it in two large pie plates. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Very delicious and moist !! Family loved it, a definate keeper. ( And we didn't even try it with ice cream yet!!) Thanks for sharing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abbottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I was pleased with the simplicity of this dessert. It reminds me of a cobbler but the crust is on the bottom which makes it great to slice and serve as oppossed to spooning out portions. I added some vanilla to the crust and served warm. Brown sugar topping was great and didn't make the cake too sweet and I could still taste the apples. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I used soy milk, and I sprinkled brown sugar on top of the cake before I place the apples on it. It was absolutely delicious! It was gone in less than a hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galesburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States