Ukrainian Apple Cake (Yabluchnyk) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I loved this! I made it to celebrate my brother's recent return from Russia and Ukraine (he claimed to have hated all the food, so it was kind of a practical joke to serve him ONE more Ukrainian dish). He actually loved it, as did everyone else at the party. I used fresh pears instead of the apples, and I didn't really measure them (I think it was probably about 3-4 cups). It was really yummy, though I'm thinking that the pears (or, rather, the amount of fruit) made the cooking time a bit longer. I also used a nine-inch springform instead of the 8x8 dish (I really don't think that would have served as nicely). I think next time I make this (and I WILL!), I will bake the bottom layer just a few minutes before adding the fruit so that it's a tad easier to slice into wedges. I served it with really good vanilla bean ice cream, which helped to even out the spiciness of the cinnamon. If you're not a big cinnamon fan, you might want to reduce it a bit. The flavor on the whole reminded me a bit of when my mother made cinnamon toast for me as a child. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeeGee's Mommy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This was easy to make, though I found three apples covered the top well in an 8x8 pan. I had to bake it for another 15 minutes, too. When I was making the topping, I thought the amount of cinnamon might be too much, but it balanced out the rest of the cake well. It's a nice, quick cake to make to use up some apples. Could actually be served as a sweet treat for breakfast, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by followthebeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lori L.
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Yum! I just had a slice because I couldn't stand to wait any longer. :) I think my guests will enjoy it too! I baked it for 30 minutes and the apples are perfect and the cake layer is very good. Not too sweet; a perfect compliment to the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I made four of these for my son's school project on Russia. I sampled the cake immediately after baking it and was not impressed. It was dry, not very flavorful and hard to cut through the apples. Fortunately, however, there was way too much food brought in to school, so my son brought home some leftovers. Let me just say, this cake definitely improves with age!!!! On day 2, the cake was so moist and flavorful, and the apples softened nicely which made for easier cutting. Yummmmm!!!! I think I've gained 5 pounds. If you're looking for a simple dessert, that's not overly sweet and has a nice presentation, try this one. I followed the recipe exactly, using a mix of Granny Smith and Jonagold apples. I baked two cakes for 35 minutes and the other two a little longer. Next time I'll stick with 35 minutes. They were just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A Turtle in the Kitchen
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This did not turn out well at all (however it was very pretty). I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with a VERY dry cake that tasted like baking powder and was still raw underneath the apples. I didn't use all four apples (I used 2 1/2), and I'm glad I didn't because I can't imagine how watery it would have ended up if I had. My boyfriend ate a couple of pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Turtle in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabethtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
yumm! cant wait to try it with different kinda fruits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashi Meessir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie R.
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I just made this... it was simple and delicious! However, I don't really recommend eating it while it's warm as the cake flavor is almost overpowering while still hot out of the oven. And don't skimp on the apples or the topping even though they may seem like a lot--the balance is perfect! I also uploaded a photo of mine--hopefully it will display soon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collingswood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Great recipe! I made it for church potluck this evening and it was a huge success! I used both mac and granny smith apples. I did lower the temperature to 350 degrees and baked it for 10 minutes longer, as per the advice of others. Very easy to make. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I was disappointed with this recipe as it did not turn out at all like what I expected. The cake layer wasn't very sweet and tasted like bread to me. And by the time I got the apples cooked to where they weren't crunchy, the cake layer was overcooked and brown against the glass dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was just okay for us. The taste was good but not necessarily something that I will make again. I prefer an apple cake with the apples mixed into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States