Ukrainian Apple Cake (Yabluchnyk) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This cake was absolutely delicious!!! It tasted like an apple pie on top of a perfectly moist coffee cake. Best of both worlds. :) I followed the directions exactly, other than I cooked 35 minutes to insure the apples were cooked completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Perfect amount of sweetness.I cut the recipe in half and I used flax seed and wheat flour instead of white flour and it turned out great! I am tempted to eat the whole thing on my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acole

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I made this cake for my Library Book Club last week.We had just finished reading Anna Karenina and I were meeting to discuss the book. I had offered to bring a Russian food. I followed the recipe exactly and it was a hit at the meeting. I made a double batch and my husband was able to eat some of the left over and liked it as well. I plan to make more for him to share at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Delicious! Even though I forgot the cinnamon (duh). I made this for a monthly supper club (Russian theme) & it was a hit. I'm assuming it would be 6 stars if I remembered the cinnamon! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anthea
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This cake is absolutely wonderful! It has been a favorite of mine. I could eat it all day cause it isn't too sweet. I only added a hint more cinnamon to the topping. Definitely going to make this again! I really like the struesel topping so I'll probably add more of it next time. So if youre looking for something not too sweet to indulge yourself in, try this cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
It tastes amazing. A party favorite, especially in the fall it goes with the just of things. I highly recommend this to anyone for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This was a very good, very rich recipe. I am really amazed at how little work it takes to actually make this. I made it with Red Delicious apples but I think the next time I make it, I'll use granny smith. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
The crust was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ala Bohn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This recipe sounded good, and it looked good... but it wasn't what I had expected. It's not a sweet dessert. The only thing that made any sweetness to it were the apples and the topping. The cake part of it was a bit dry and blan for my taste. I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I loved this! I made it to celebrate my brother's recent return from Russia and Ukraine (he claimed to have hated all the food, so it was kind of a practical joke to serve him ONE more Ukrainian dish). He actually loved it, as did everyone else at the party. I used fresh pears instead of the apples, and I didn't really measure them (I think it was probably about 3-4 cups). It was really yummy, though I'm thinking that the pears (or, rather, the amount of fruit) made the cooking time a bit longer. I also used a nine-inch springform instead of the 8x8 dish (I really don't think that would have served as nicely). I think next time I make this (and I WILL!), I will bake the bottom layer just a few minutes before adding the fruit so that it's a tad easier to slice into wedges. I served it with really good vanilla bean ice cream, which helped to even out the spiciness of the cinnamon. If you're not a big cinnamon fan, you might want to reduce it a bit. The flavor on the whole reminded me a bit of when my mother made cinnamon toast for me as a child. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeeGee's Mommy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States