Ukha (Russian Fish Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
Nobody in our house liked this soup. I give it a 0 rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I made this soup for a girl from Russia - she loved it, I used cod and salmon, and no lemon juice because I understand it's not served that way in Russia. Two other tips, I think in America we've been trained to go easy with salt, but she added quite a bit of salt to hers and I think that's the way it's prepared and served in Russia, with a lot of salt, and the skin should be removed from the potatos. I enjoyed this soup very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I make fish soup very simple. I use 14oz caned pink salmon, use liquid as well. 2 Quarts Water. 4 large potatoes,peeled and cubed. 1 big onion chopped. 3 stalks celery chopped. Chopped parsley and fresh or dried dill. 4 Bay leaves. 20 freshly crushed whole black peppers. 1/2 TBS salt. I cook all ingredients, including liquid from the canned salmon for 20 min, except for salmon and fresh dill. Then I add salmon, breaking it in pieces before adding to soup. Simmer for the final 5 min. Add more pepper or salt to taste. Garnish with fresh dill. May add 1 tsp. sour cream to an individual bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
What a wonderful soup! I've never used as much parsley as this recipe calls for before and I love it! I used 3 different fish and cooked it all in a crock pot. I also used the clam juice. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I agree with dropping out the lemon, but as I recall it is the second day when the left over soup has a gel coating on top, that it is served on a good slice of dark bread with a shot of vodka in the morning before going fishing to add the days catch to the soup base to be served again that evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Popejoy, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
An awesome start, I enhanced as follows: 1) used Kitchenbasics Seafood Broth (no msg!) AND water to boil potatoes, onion, celery, carrot, all cubed/diced. 2) Meanwhile browned Cod and salmon on a hot iron skillet briefly, then 3) got rid of all the bones, immersed fish with the rest. 4) Towards the end I used half of a large lemon, added parsley and chopped green onions, added a bit of salt and a tad of black pepper (to taste) - plus a few drops of 6) Hot Sauce, which simply enhanced the taste a bit more. Got an amazing yummiest clear fish soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is how you make Uha the ingredients are water diced potatoes in large cubes diced Carrot one onion cut in half (after cooking toss it) one bay leaf a few peppercorns fresh cought fish cleaned, cut into large chunks with skin, usally I use bass, walleye or trout salt Dill or Parsley fill pot with water, add onion, bay leaf peppercorns and Carrots let boil about 10-15 Min. add fish and salt cook till fish is done. garnish with parsley (dill will overpower the flavor) and this is the authentic way of making this soup. 5 stars plus more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I love this soup! We usually have it when we go camping and fishing, its super simple to make and delicious. I didn't add the lemon, and I did add some chopped up carrots and a tablespoon of chicken stock to give it some more flavor. I used salmon. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Horrible. Maybe the worst soup I've ever tasted (am I like salmon!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Tried and liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States