Ukha (Russian Fish Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
This recipe is almost "the right one", with only one exeption - NO LEMONS at all are used in authentic russian ukha. And it will be defenetly better if you will use two or three kind of fish, and simmer potato in a clear fish boulion. This way it will be great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is how you make Uha the ingredients are water diced potatoes in large cubes diced Carrot one onion cut in half (after cooking toss it) one bay leaf a few peppercorns fresh cought fish cleaned, cut into large chunks with skin, usally I use bass, walleye or trout salt Dill or Parsley fill pot with water, add onion, bay leaf peppercorns and Carrots let boil about 10-15 Min. add fish and salt cook till fish is done. garnish with parsley (dill will overpower the flavor) and this is the authentic way of making this soup. 5 stars plus more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I made this soup for a girl from Russia - she loved it, I used cod and salmon, and no lemon juice because I understand it's not served that way in Russia. Two other tips, I think in America we've been trained to go easy with salt, but she added quite a bit of salt to hers and I think that's the way it's prepared and served in Russia, with a lot of salt, and the skin should be removed from the potatos. I enjoyed this soup very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I am Russian and I think there is nothing wrong in adding some lemon juice or just garnishing with a lemon. It brings the freshness and just enhances the flavor of the stock. One more tip, please, don't put bay leaves and lots of black pepper into the soup. They convert the basic flavor of your fish. And don't dice the potatoes, make a potato balls using a special little coring scoop. Parsley and lemon for garnishing of course. Basically when you are making a stock you should cook onions (whole! then, you'll damp them away), potatoes, and parsley root!!! this is the Russian trad. soup making way. Thanks for attention. Alex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexander Russian Magic Cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Photo by posh
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
One of our favorites! Used to make it a lot whenever we went fishing. Add some fresh caviar ( like perch caviar or whatever you have on hand ) for better taste! Also we always use dill weed instead of parsley and a couple bay leaves, which gives the soup unique ''ukha '' flavor! By the way no lemons are used in traditional russian ''ukha''.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I agree with dropping out the lemon, but as I recall it is the second day when the left over soup has a gel coating on top, that it is served on a good slice of dark bread with a shot of vodka in the morning before going fishing to add the days catch to the soup base to be served again that evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Popejoy, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I followed the review of previous posts and used fish broth rather than water. Also, excluded lemon and salt (due to using broth) I sauted the onion and by accident added one stalk of chopped celery prior to adding the potato, broth and parsley. I used pollack and haddock and the soup was delicious. The broth was a refreshing change from the usual creamy chowder. The fish broth brought out the flavor of all without being too fishy tasting. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
Nobody in our house liked this soup. I give it a 0 rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I make fish soup very simple. I use 14oz caned pink salmon, use liquid as well. 2 Quarts Water. 4 large potatoes,peeled and cubed. 1 big onion chopped. 3 stalks celery chopped. Chopped parsley and fresh or dried dill. 4 Bay leaves. 20 freshly crushed whole black peppers. 1/2 TBS salt. I cook all ingredients, including liquid from the canned salmon for 20 min, except for salmon and fresh dill. Then I add salmon, breaking it in pieces before adding to soup. Simmer for the final 5 min. Add more pepper or salt to taste. Garnish with fresh dill. May add 1 tsp. sour cream to an individual bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
What a wonderful soup! I've never used as much parsley as this recipe calls for before and I love it! I used 3 different fish and cooked it all in a crock pot. I also used the clam juice. Great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States