Ukha (Russian Fish Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
This recipe is almost "the right one", with only one exeption - NO LEMONS at all are used in authentic russian ukha. And it will be defenetly better if you will use two or three kind of fish, and simmer potato in a clear fish boulion. This way it will be great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
Nobody in our house liked this soup. I give it a 0 rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I made this soup for a girl from Russia - she loved it, I used cod and salmon, and no lemon juice because I understand it's not served that way in Russia. Two other tips, I think in America we've been trained to go easy with salt, but she added quite a bit of salt to hers and I think that's the way it's prepared and served in Russia, with a lot of salt, and the skin should be removed from the potatos. I enjoyed this soup very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Horrible. Maybe the worst soup I've ever tasted (am I like salmon!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Tried and liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
As some suggested, I did not add the lemon and increased the salt; I did, however add swiss chard for more nutrients. I also used red herring; the result was a satisfying soup that did not seem "fishy". My husband, however, not a huge fish lover, did not like it as much but still ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Yummy, But Don't Add the Lemon. It takes away from it, at least it seemed that way to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ekalaka, Montana, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I followed the review of previous posts and used fish broth rather than water. Also, excluded lemon and salt (due to using broth) I sauted the onion and by accident added one stalk of chopped celery prior to adding the potato, broth and parsley. I used pollack and haddock and the soup was delicious. The broth was a refreshing change from the usual creamy chowder. The fish broth brought out the flavor of all without being too fishy tasting. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by posh
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
One of our favorites! Used to make it a lot whenever we went fishing. Add some fresh caviar ( like perch caviar or whatever you have on hand ) for better taste! Also we always use dill weed instead of parsley and a couple bay leaves, which gives the soup unique ''ukha '' flavor! By the way no lemons are used in traditional russian ''ukha''.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
More fish, more salt and a little less onion might help. Definitely has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States