Ukha (Russian Fish Soup) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This is how you make Uha the ingredients are water diced potatoes in large cubes diced Carrot one onion cut in half (after cooking toss it) one bay leaf a few peppercorns fresh cought fish cleaned, cut into large chunks with skin, usally I use bass, walleye or trout salt Dill or Parsley fill pot with water, add onion, bay leaf peppercorns and Carrots let boil about 10-15 Min. add fish and salt cook till fish is done. garnish with parsley (dill will overpower the flavor) and this is the authentic way of making this soup. 5 stars plus more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
An awesome start, I enhanced as follows: 1) used Kitchenbasics Seafood Broth (no msg!) AND water to boil potatoes, onion, celery, carrot, all cubed/diced. 2) Meanwhile browned Cod and salmon on a hot iron skillet briefly, then 3) got rid of all the bones, immersed fish with the rest. 4) Towards the end I used half of a large lemon, added parsley and chopped green onions, added a bit of salt and a tad of black pepper (to taste) - plus a few drops of 6) Hot Sauce, which simply enhanced the taste a bit more. Got an amazing yummiest clear fish soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I am Russian and I think there is nothing wrong in adding some lemon juice or just garnishing with a lemon. It brings the freshness and just enhances the flavor of the stock. One more tip, please, don't put bay leaves and lots of black pepper into the soup. They convert the basic flavor of your fish. And don't dice the potatoes, make a potato balls using a special little coring scoop. Parsley and lemon for garnishing of course. Basically when you are making a stock you should cook onions (whole! then, you'll damp them away), potatoes, and parsley root!!! this is the Russian trad. soup making way. Thanks for attention. Alex.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexander Russian Magic Cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
We made this with salmon and really enjoyed it. It's very easy to make and easy to adapt to individual tastes. We like our food spicy so we added some hot pepper. Next time I will probably experiment with extra veggies to make it even more nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Tasted just like I remember when eating it in Russia. I did not use a lemon though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I agree with dropping out the lemon, but as I recall it is the second day when the left over soup has a gel coating on top, that it is served on a good slice of dark bread with a shot of vodka in the morning before going fishing to add the days catch to the soup base to be served again that evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Popejoy, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
More fish, more salt and a little less onion might help. Definitely has potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by posh
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
One of our favorites! Used to make it a lot whenever we went fishing. Add some fresh caviar ( like perch caviar or whatever you have on hand ) for better taste! Also we always use dill weed instead of parsley and a couple bay leaves, which gives the soup unique ''ukha '' flavor! By the way no lemons are used in traditional russian ''ukha''.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I followed the review of previous posts and used fish broth rather than water. Also, excluded lemon and salt (due to using broth) I sauted the onion and by accident added one stalk of chopped celery prior to adding the potato, broth and parsley. I used pollack and haddock and the soup was delicious. The broth was a refreshing change from the usual creamy chowder. The fish broth brought out the flavor of all without being too fishy tasting. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Yummy, But Don't Add the Lemon. It takes away from it, at least it seemed that way to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ekalaka, Montana, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States