Ugly Duckling Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
...just doesn't have a lot of taste...wonderfully moist...would be good in the morning with a cup of coffee...just not too impressed....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Very simple! Wasn't sure how long to cook the topping so I waited til it boiled a bit. Can't wait to give pineapple a try! Had it warm this evening and will try it cold tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This is extemely sweet so if you are craving pure sugar, go for it. I will not be making this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Love it! Very moist. I made it in an 8x8 dish and there was a bit too much coconut in the sauce, so next time I make it I'll put some of the coconut right in the cake. Also, I used tropical fruit salad and chopped it up finer in the food processor. It added a nice flavour with the coconut sauce. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Vanderhoof, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I know this recipe as Fruit Cocktail Cake, and have been making it for quite sometime...it was passed on to me from a friend via a lovely old lady. I usually use 2 cups of white sugar in the cake batter, but will use "lite" fruit cocktail to balance the sweetness. I also add vanilla to the topping and poke holes in the cake before pouring it on time so that the cake can absorb all of the liquid - the result is a yummy "tres leche" type cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caymanianseminole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bodden Town, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Definitely a winner! My boyfriend isn't a fan of cake and he took two HUGE portions. One slight change for next time. Cut back a tad on the sauce it overwhelmed and nearly drowned my cake. It was done baking for me at 30 minutes. I poured the sauce on and popped it back in the oven for 5 minutes to brown to coconut. Fabulously easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyPie87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This cake was great, I did a few things different. I put the fruit cocktail in the food processor first to make the chunks smaller. I omitted the coconut and poked holes in the cake before I poured on the sauce. Then put it in the fridge to cool and then topped it with cool whip. A tip I have is to cook the sauce up to a rolling boil for one minute. I received alot of compliments on this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiley Heidtbrink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Gresham, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
This is my new Favorite cake!! i made it in a bundt pan,& it was not "ugly" at all! i used a can of lite cherry pie filling & a can (drained) of pinappple tidbits in place of fruit cup (used what i had) and had coconut extract,which i added to the icing. Poked holes in the top, poured icing over top & spooned some of the coconut on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
This cake is awesome! I found it while looking for a cake that starts with "U" (don't ask), and was pretty skeptical. Now it is in our permanent recipe box. My husband even asked for it for his birthday. I used "No sugar added" fruit cocktail. The icing never did get thick, but it soaked into the cake and made it deliciously moist. This is a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States