Ugly Duckling Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Very nice cake. Used pecans rather than walnuts. Served it with whipped cream with very little sugar added. Was very much enjoyed by all who had it. Will make again if ever I have canned fruit cocktail in my cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This cake was fast and easy to make, and I loved the sauce poured over to make it so moist. I think it could have benefited from some vanilla extract added to it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
...just doesn't have a lot of taste...wonderfully moist...would be good in the morning with a cup of coffee...just not too impressed....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Very simple! Wasn't sure how long to cook the topping so I waited til it boiled a bit. Can't wait to give pineapple a try! Had it warm this evening and will try it cold tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This is extemely sweet so if you are craving pure sugar, go for it. I will not be making this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Love it! Very moist. I made it in an 8x8 dish and there was a bit too much coconut in the sauce, so next time I make it I'll put some of the coconut right in the cake. Also, I used tropical fruit salad and chopped it up finer in the food processor. It added a nice flavour with the coconut sauce. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Vanderhoof, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I know this recipe as Fruit Cocktail Cake, and have been making it for quite sometime...it was passed on to me from a friend via a lovely old lady. I usually use 2 cups of white sugar in the cake batter, but will use "lite" fruit cocktail to balance the sweetness. I also add vanilla to the topping and poke holes in the cake before pouring it on time so that the cake can absorb all of the liquid - the result is a yummy "tres leche" type cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caymanianseminole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bodden Town, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Definitely a winner! My boyfriend isn't a fan of cake and he took two HUGE portions. One slight change for next time. Cut back a tad on the sauce it overwhelmed and nearly drowned my cake. It was done baking for me at 30 minutes. I poured the sauce on and popped it back in the oven for 5 minutes to brown to coconut. Fabulously easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyPie87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This cake was great, I did a few things different. I put the fruit cocktail in the food processor first to make the chunks smaller. I omitted the coconut and poked holes in the cake before I poured on the sauce. Then put it in the fridge to cool and then topped it with cool whip. A tip I have is to cook the sauce up to a rolling boil for one minute. I received alot of compliments on this cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiley Heidtbrink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Gresham, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
This is my new Favorite cake!! i made it in a bundt pan,& it was not "ugly" at all! i used a can of lite cherry pie filling & a can (drained) of pinappple tidbits in place of fruit cup (used what i had) and had coconut extract,which i added to the icing. Poked holes in the top, poured icing over top & spooned some of the coconut on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States